Date: August 18, 2014
Author: Martin Blake /

10 Australians with a shot at glory

Australians have qualified for the lucrative playoff series on the United States PGA Tour, securing their playing rights for next season.

It is an impressive number headed by Adam Scott at No 15, with veteran Robert Allenby sneaking into the playoffs in 125th and last place, meaning that Allenby is guaranteed the right to play next season.

Allenby, who was 122rd going into the Wyndham Championship where he missed the cut, could not have cut it any finer but theoretically at least, he is still in the running for the rich Fedex Cup.

Another veteran, Victorian Stuart Appleby, made the list at No. 98 after several years of battling to retain his playing rights. Appleby lost his playing card at the end of the 2012 season, and had to activate a career-money exemption to play at all in 2013, when he sneaked into the bottom end of the top 125 so that he could play again this year.

The closest Australian who missed out was Western Australia's Greg Chalmers at 132nd, which puts Chalmers into a bunfight in the Tour finals. Players ranked 126th to 200th on the Fedex Cup points list are grouped with the top 75 on the secondary tour for a four-tournament swing where 50 cards to play on the PGA Tour will be offered. Unless Chalmers plays well there, he will be heading back to the secondary tour for the first time in several years.

The Fedex Cup playoffs begin on 21 August at the Barclays Championship, where Adam Scott will defend the title.  Each of the four tournaments is worth a prize pool of $US 8 million. The number of players is trimmed to 100 for the Deutsch Bank Championship, then 70 for the BMW Championship, and finally to the top 30 for the Tour Championship in Atlanta on 11 September, where a $10 million bonus cheque is on offer.

Henrik Stenson won the Fedex Cup in 2013. Since its introduction in 2007, no Australian has won the cup. Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy will begin the playoffs in the No. 1 position.


15 Adam Scott

26 John Senden

27 Marc Leishman

34 Jason Day

40 Matt Jones

52 Steven Bowditch

90 Geoff Ogilvy

98 Stuart Appleby

102 Aaron Baddeley

125 Robert Allenby