Date: November 18, 2011

2012 National Squad members selected

Golf Australia is pleased to announce the players selected for the 2012 National Squad. Tier 1: Matt Stieger (NSW), Jake Higginbottom (NSW), Cameron Smith (QLD), Ashlee Dewhurst (TAS) and Minjee Lee (WA). Tier 2: Nathan Holman (VIC), Ryan McCarthy (TAS), Bryden Macpherson (VIC), Todd Sinnott (VIC), Ashley Ona (QLD) and Brett Drewitt (NSW). Junior Squad: Oliver Goss (WA), Anthony Murdaca (SA), Cathleen Santoso (NSW), Su-Hyun Oh (VIC), Jamie Dougan (QLD). The difference between Tier 1 and Tier 2 selected athletes is based on selection benchmarks and criteria met by each athlete. Athletes will receive higher funding at the Tier 1 level for international competition. All other resources and opportunities will be equal at both levels. Golf Australia High Performance Director Brad James said it was pleasing to see Junior Squad players from last year enter Tier 1 and Tier 2 in 2012. It’s great to see players making the transition through the tiers in the system, James said. 2012 is a big year in High Performance golf in Australia, particularly with the World Amateur Teams Championships in Turkey which every player will be striving for, James added. We will continue with our successful schedule of state, national and international camps which gives players a chance to check-in during the year and also allows the National Coaches to see how they are progressing. The new squad takes effect from January 1, 2012.