Date: November 16, 2016

About The Course

The Australian is one of Australia’s most revered golf clubs and always figures prominently in debates about the country's oldest clubs with its inauguration coming in 1882.

The Australian Golf Club will, in 2019, play host to a record 21st Australian Open, including the first tournament in 1904.

Rosebery is the fourth location of The Australian Golf Club with the current location first laid out by golf professionals Jock Hutchison, Gilbert Martin and Carnegie Clark in 1904-05. It has since undergone a handful or redesigns, most noticably tweaked by legendary architect Alister McKenzie and then major reshapings by the inimitable Jack Nicklaus in the late 1970s, then again in 2013 in time for the Australian Open the following year.

So while the course itself has undergone some changes, one thing remains constant — it has always been a superb test of golf. The list of Australian Open champions crowned at The Australian will attest to that, with Nicklaus (twice), Greg Norman, David Graham, Kel Nagle, Ivo Whitton and Joe Kirkwood Sr all prominent, not to mention Jordan Spieth on his first look at the course in 2015.

With immaculate presentation and a layout that can reward exceptional golf yet penalise errors fiercely, The Australian always paints the nation in a good light when beamed around the world.

This December promises to be no different.

For more information on The Australian Golf Club, click here.