Date: January 20, 2007

Allenby chasing Rose

Sportal Robert Allenby has shot a second consecutive two-under par round of 70 to remain in contention with the leaders after the third round of the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic in California. The Australian is thirteen-under par for the tournament, five strokes adrift of leader Justin Rose and three shots behind second placed Scott Verplank in the US$5 million event. Rose was again outstanding, shooting a blistering six-under par round of 66 to add to his 65 and 67 from the previous rounds and take his score to eighteen-under par for the tournament. The Englishman began solidly with two birdies on the front nine before an eagle on the 11th hole to set the ball rolling for three more birdies during the back nine, his only blemish being a bogey on the 16th. Verplank shot successive scores of 66 during his opening two rounds and was on track for a hat-trick after firing four birdies on the front nine until a bogey on the 16th forced him to settle for a four-under par 68. John Senden continued his climb up the leader board, carding a four-under par round of 68 to move to eleven-under and set himself up for a shot at the leaders over the weekend. Fellow Australian Andrew Buckle impressed with a superb six-under par round of 66 during his third round to move to ten-under par for the tournament and keep the leaders within range. The tournament is being staged over five rounds at four different courses and the winner will receive US$900,000 as well as 4,500 FedEx Cup points towards their season tally. Leading scores after round three of the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic (par 72): -18: Justin Rose -16: Scott Verplank -13: Robert Allenby (Australia), John Rollins, Lucas Glover -12: Charley Hoffman -11: Charles Warren, John Senden (Australia), Joe Durant, Matt Kuchar, Heath Slocum, Dean Wilson -10: Andrew Buckle (Australia), Craig Kanada, Bob Heintz, Ted Purdy, Shane Bertsch, Dudley Hart, Bernhard Langer, Nathan Green (Australia), Anders Hansen, Jeff Quinney, Tom Johnson -7: Mark Hensby (Australia) -5: Paul Gow (Australia) -4: Stephen Leaney (Australia) -4: Andrew Buckle (Australia) -3: Steve Elkington (Australia), Peter Lonard (Australia)