Date: June 20, 2014

Aussie Juniors off to reclaim World Cup title

The Australian Junior Boys team headed to Nagoya, Japan this morning to compete in the Toyota Junior Golf World Cup 2014.

As the 2012 Champions, Australia is looking to reclaim the title after last year's one-stroke, runner up finish.

The Aussie team is made up of four players Blake Windred (NSW), Brett Coletta (VIC), Zach Murray (VIC), and Blake Proverbs (QLD), along with Dean Kinney (Coach) and Peter Knight (Captain).

View below Media Release – 5 June 2014

Venezuela to Defend Title at TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup 2014
Supported by JAL Beginning June 24
Field expanded to include teams from 15 countries

Led by 2013 Individual Champion Jorge Garcia, Venezuela will look to defend its 2013 title when the TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup 2014 Supported by JAL tees off in Toyota City, AichiPrefecture, Japan, on June 24.

The 2014 tournament will feature an expanded field now consisting of the best junior golfers from 15 countries across six continents. The Chukyo Golf Club’s Ishino Course will once again play host to the 22nd annual event.

“The tournament committee is excited for the expansion to 15 countries,” Vice Chairman Eiji Tagashira said. “That, combined with the talented players set to participate, should make this one of the most competitive tournaments in our 22 year history.”

The TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup 2014 Supported by JAL, which follows a four-players-count-three scores format, will consist of four rounds played June 24 – 27. It is the world’s only junior golf championship in which 15 national teams – winners of regional qualifiers held across six continents and participated in by nearly 70 national teams – compete for the world championship.

Defending – champion Venezuela and 2009 champion Argentina will be joined by Chile – seeking its first title – as the South American participants.

Host Japan – winner of three TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup titles – will be accompanied by fellow Asian representatives Korea (one title) and Thailand while 2012 champion Australia returns following last year’s one – stroke, runner-up finish.

Africa will have two participants – continental champion South Africa and Zimbabwe. South Africa’s 2001 TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup championship team – Africa’s lone title – winner – featured future British Open winner Louis Oosthuizen and Masters champion Charl Schwartzel.

North American qualifier winner Canada will be joined by Mexico and the United States – winners of the most TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup titles with seven, the last of which came in 2005.

Europe will be represented by three countries – continental champion France, Italy and Norway. Norway has two TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup championships to its name (2006, 2008) while France and Italy are each looking for their first.

In addition to Oosthuizen and Schwartzel, notable former participants of the TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup include Bud Cauley (USA), Kevin Chappell (USA), Brendon de Jonge (Zimbabwe), Russell Henley (USA), Ryuji Imada (Japan), Trevor Immelman (South Africa), Anthony Kim (USA), Hunter Mahan (USA),Edoardo Molinari (Italy), Justin Rose (England), Kyle Stanley (USA), Henrik Stenson (Sweden) and Camilo Villegas (Colombia).

For more information, please visit