Date: August 19, 2011

Australia Wins Nomura Cup

Results: Nomura Cup – Team Results Nomura Cup – Individual Results Australia has won the 25th Nomura Cup in Fiji. Going into the final round at the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club with a 13 stroke lead, the Australian Team of Cameron Smith, Jake Higginbottom, Marika Batibasaga and Daniel Bringolf returned a combined score of 15 under par for the last round to beat New Zealand by 21 strokes. The Australians completed the event with a 24 under par total of 840. India retained its third position with a final score of 865, followed by defending champions Korea on 870. Japan rounded out the top five. Australia finished first, second and third in the individual event, with Cameron Smith leading from start to finish. Smith returned a final round four under par 68, for a nine under par total of 279. Jake Higginbottom finished second after a final round 66, for a seven under total, with Bringolf tied third at three under. Marika Batibasaga was disqualified from the individual event due to signing for an incorrect score for round three. Smith and Higginbottom are now automatically selected in the Asia-Pacific Team to contest the Bonallack Trophy against Europe in Portugal next year. The 2011 Nomura Cup is Australia s ninth win in the event since it first entered the competition in 1983, and now lays claim to having won the most number of Nomura Cups of any competing country.