Date: July 31, 2013

Awesome Foursome Lead the Field

Patience was the key today as thick fog blanketed the courses at Cobram-Barooga GC today, delaying the commencement of play for the Country Championship and Glenelg Cup fields. Players waited patiently in the clubhouse as the time ticked by while the stubborn fog provided only 50 meters of visibility. Thankfully, the sun started to break through around 12 noon and all players headed out to a multi-tee start for the second round of play.

The Glenelg Cup was tightly contested on the West Course. Jan Hemphill (Yarrawonga Mulwala) fired the lowest round of the day nett 71 to storm home with the title by 2 shots. Hemphill, a 27 marker, shot an impressive two round nett total of 148 to beat Warragul member Kylie Golding (Hcp 20) on 150. Golding cleaned up in the gross section as well, carding rounds of 93 and 97 for a total of 190 off the stick to edge out fellow Warragul competitor Shirley Todd on 195.

Competing on the Old Course, it was moving day for the Championship field as players fought for the top 8 qualifying spots in the Championship Match Play. For the first time in living memory, there was a four way tie for the Betty Kernot Trophy (awarded to the leading qualifier for the Country Championship). As a condition of the competition, a tie shall stand for this trophy, which saw youngsters Bianca Ling (13th Beach), Catherine Odgers (Wodonga), Jessica Pickwick (Kilmore), and Casey Wild (Wodonga) sharing the title. The four winners tied on gross 162 for 36-holes to engrave their name on the trophy. They will now go through to the match play component of the championship, accompanied by Helen Pascoe (Buninyong), June Tickell (Trafalgar), Rebecca Thomas (Leongatha) and Johanna Wyllie (Tambo Valley).

Lauren Higgins (Warrnambool, hcap 14) followed on her opening round of nett 70 to score nett 76 today for a two-round total of nett 146 which was the best in the Championship field. The quarter-finals will commence tomorrow morning at 8am followed by semi-finals from 12:30pm on the West Course. The final will be contested on the Old Course at 8am on Friday with presentations to follow at the conclusion of play.

Glenelg Cup Winner Jan Hemphill (Yarrawonga Mulwala)

Click here for full results and photos.