Date: February 08, 2012
Author: Christy Collier

Drewitt wins 2012 Men’s NSW Amateur Championship

Image Gallery Wednesday 8 February 2012 The field was whittled down from 280 to two and today the finalists, Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC) and Michael Lambert (New South Wales GC), battled it out over 36-holes at Elanora CC to determine the 2012 Men&aposs NSW Amateur Champion. Both players overcame some tough matches this week, with Drewitt defeating the talented Jake Higginbottom (The Australian GC) and youngster Ricky Kato (Bonnie Doon GC) in a tough match. Lambert knocked out Australian representative Matt Stieger (St. Michael&aposs GC) and won on the 19th in an exciting semi-final yesterday against Callan O&aposReilly (Pennant Hills GC). Lambert had a good start and took an early lead in the final. Drewitt clawed back and sat at 1 up after 12. It was an extremely tight match from there on in, eventually coming right down to the wire. At 3up with three to play, it looked like Drewitt had it in the bag. However some solid play from Lambert saw him take both the 34th and 35th hole. With a good crowd following the pair, it was down to the 36th hole of the match. Both players played it well off the tee, then put reasonable shots onto the green. Lambert&aposs long putt landed just a few feet from the hole. Drewitt&aposs long putt just behind it. In a tense final shot, Drewitt holed the putt, securing him the victory. It was a sweet reward for Drewitt, who finished runner up last week in the NSW Medal in a playoff. He was understandibly thrilled with the victory, and in his thank you speech praised the quality of the courses, which were just outstanding. LIVE SCORES – FINAL 8.00am Michael Lambert v Brett Drewitt After 3 – Lambert 1 up After 6 – Lambert 1 up After 9 – Lambert 1 up After 12 – Drewitt 1 up After 15 – Drewitt 1 up After 18 – Drewitt 1 up The next round of 18-holes is due to tee off at 12.15pm. After 21 – Drewitt 3 up After 24 – Drewitt 1 up After 27 – Square After 30 – Drewitt 1 up After 33 – Drewitt 3 up DREWITT WINS 1UP Tuesday 7 February 2012 Finalists were determined today for the 2012 Men&aposs NSW Amateur Championship, being played at Elanora Country Club. FINAL: Michael Lambert (NSWGC) v Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC) The Final match is played over 36-holes, commencing at 8.00am on Wednesday 8 February at Elanora Country Club. Semi Finals were played this afternoon. 12.00pm Callan O&aposReilly v Michael Lambert After 3 – Square After 6 – O&aposReilly 1up After 9 – Square After 12 – Lambert 2 up After 15 – Lambert 1 up After 18 – Sqaure Lambert wins on the 19th 12.30pm Brett Drewitt v Jake Higginbottom After 3 – Drewitt 3 up After 6 – Drewitt 4 up After 9 – Drewitt 3 up After 12 – Drewitt 2 up After 15 – Drewitt 2 up Drewitt wins 3/2. Match Play Draw and Results 8.00am The final eight tee&aposd off this morning in the quarter finals of the 2012 Men&aposs NSW Amateur Championship match play, being held at Elanora Country Club. Going right down to the 18th, Callan O&aposReilly (Pennant Hills GC) made a three foot putt to win his match against Matt Steiger (St. Michael&aposs GC), 1up. Michael Lambert (NSWGC) defeated Daniel Pearce (Yarra Yarra GC, Vic) 3/1, while Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC) won his match 2/1 against Ricky Kato (Bonnie Doon GC). Jake Higginbottom (The Australian GC) knocked out the last international in the tournament, Ireland&aposs Reeve Whitson, winning comfortably 4/3. In this afternoon&aposs semi final matches, O&aposReilly will play Lambert, and Higginbottom will go up against Drewitt. Monday 6 February 2012 The rounds of 32 and 16 were played today in the 2012 Men’sNSW Amateur Championship match play, held at Elanora Golf Club. Number one seed and NSW Medallist Neil Raymond (Corhampton GC, UK) was knocked out in the first round by 32nd seed Matt Stieger (St Michaels GC). Stieger also won his second match, seeing him through to the quarter finals tomorrow. Others successfully through to tomorrows quarter finals are Callan O Reilly (Pennant Hills GC), Daniel Pearce (Yarra Yarra GC, Vic), Michael Lambert (New South Wales GC), Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC), Ricky Kato (Bonnie Doon GC), Jake Higginbottom (The Australian GC) and Reeve Whitson (Mourne GC, Ireland). Quarter Finals kick off at 8.00am tomorrow. Match Play Draw and Results 7.00am The round of 32 will be played this morning, and sees some very interesting contests, with Raymond up against 32nd qualifier, 2011 Australian Amateur Champion, Matt Stieger, who himself survived a play-off to make the match play component of the NSW Amateur. Many compatriots also face up in the first round, with NSW GC&aposs Michael Bell and Micahel Lambert up against each other, as are highly fancied Interstate rivals Brady Watt (WA) and Rory Bourke (Vic). NSW Elite Squad members, Ricky Kato and Daniel Bringolf, should be a great contest and a lot of interest will surround the matches at the bottom of the draw with New Zealanders Tim Leonard and Fraser Wilkin up against each other, as are Ireland&aposs Reeve Whitson and England&aposs Ashley Chesters. Friday 3 February 2012 All 32-qualifiers have been determined for the 2012 Men&aposs NSW Amateur Championship which kicks off on Monday at Elanora Country Club. Due to heavy rains, rounds 3 & 4 of the NSW Medal were cancelled, therefore the 32 qualifiers were determined from the first 36-holes of the Medal. Playoffs were required to determine positions 1 and 2, and 30, 31 and 32. Congratulations to all those who have qualified. Please see match play draw and important information below. MATCH PLAY DRAW Practice timesheet – Elanora Player Information – Match Play Elanora Country Club – Dress Regulations For further information please contact Christy Collier on 0412 653 000 or