Date: October 29, 2011
Author: Christy Collier

Hunter wins 2011 Men’s NSW Sand Greens Championship

Day 2 – Sunday 30 October FINAL SCORES Photo Gallery Lithgow&aposs Darren Hunter has claimed the title of 2011 Men&aposs NSW Sand Greens Champion, winning the event held at Portland Golf Club, Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 October 2011. Hunter set the early pace with a par round this morning. This gave him a 36 hole total of three over par 143, and set the target for overnight leaders Koopman and Sharp who were due to hit off in the afternoon. Only three of the top ten players from round 1 played in the morning, so all were aware of the score to beat. Despite near perfect afternoon conditions, all failed in their efforts to beat the score set. In contrast, Bathurst s Neville Whalan came storming home with a second round 65 to take the 36 hole trophy by one stroke from first round leader local Portland member Barry Jennings and another Bathurst member Darren Hann a further stroke behind. In the team s event Bathurst were clear winners (by 9 strokes !) Championship WInner (John Lugsdin Trophy): Darren Hunter (Lithgow) 73/70: 143 Runner Up: Ben Koopman (Barraba) 71/76: 147 Third: Chris Sharp (Portland) 71/80: 151 Junior Championship Winner: Ben Koopman (Barraba) 71 / 76: 147 36 Holes Handicap Winner: Neville Whalan (Bathurst) 69/65: 134 36 Holes Handicap Runner Up: Barry Jennings (Portland) 64/71: 135 Saturday Scratch Winner: Andy O Brien (Portland) 72cb Saturday Net Winner: Shane Green (Portland) 66cb Sunday Scratch Winner: Mitchell O Brien (Coolamon) 75 Sunday Net Winner: Scott Rochester (Portland) 65cb Teams Event Winners: Neville Whalan, Darren Hann, Peter Griffiths (Bathurst) 270 Day 1 – Saturday 29 October Portland has presented their golf course in a condition which at least equals the very best seen by the NSW Sand Greens Championship participants. It was only the weather that threatened to spoil the enthusiasm of the 146 golfers playing in this year s event. The weather radar was being watched very closely as neighbouring towns received significant rainfall, thunder and lightning. The god s were smiling on Portland and only light rain fell for around an hour of the morning s play and then again on the last group as they played the last hole. The best scores returned were from Barraba s Ben Koopman and local Christopher Sharp who both returned one over par rounds of 71. Koopman started the day in fine form with birdies at the 1st, 5th and 7th holes to stand at 3 under par. Unfortunately, he finished with a double bogey 6 on the 18th hole. In contrast, Sharp who commenced at the 10th tee, came home with a 2 under par 33 on his second nine. Interestingly, 17 year old Koopman was leading this event at Narromine last year after the first round but struggled under the pressure of being first round leader. In the net event, locals lead the field with Barry Jennings shooting 6 under 64, one stroke ahead of Phillip Sharp. A host of others are hot on their heels. In the team s event the team from Bathurst lead the way (N.Whalan, J. Hann and P.Griffths) on 136 nett, one stroke ahead of Portland s team of R.Anlezark, D.Hartfield and A.O Brien. In the Junior Championship, Ben Koopman leads Cobar s Jacob Ryan by 8 strokes. Pre Event article The 2011 NSW Sand Greens Championship, incorporating the 2011 NSW Junior Sand Greens Championship and the 2011 NSW Sand Greens Teams Event, is being held at Portland Golf Club on Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 October 2011. Draw and Player Information Daily reports, results, images and prize winners will be available here. Golf NSW General Manager, Graeme Phillipson, commented on the culture of the event. Although it s a Championship event, the Sand Greens is very much about bringing together players from all over regional NSW to come together, meet a few new people, play a few rounds of golf, and enjoy a drink together at the end of the day. There s a great sense of camaraderie amongst the participants, and it s just a really enjoyable event. The Championship includes the popular team s event whereby teams of three compete, with the two best nett scores each day counting towards the team total. A range of prizes will be awarded, including: – NSW Sand Greens Champion will be awarded the John Lugsdin Memorial Trophy – NSW Junior Sand Greens Champion will be awarded the NSW Junior Sand Greens Trophy – Sandgreens Championship runner up – Sandgreens Championship third place – 36 hole handicap winner & runner up – Saturday scratch winner & runner up – Saturday nett winner & runner up – Sunday scratch winner & runner up – Sunday nett winner & runner up – NSW Junior Sand Greens Championship – first place – Teams event winners & runners up For further information regarding this event please contact Christy Collier .