Date: August 19, 2010

Invitations issued for Asian Amateur

<image="2" align="left" />

Click Here to view a Full List of Invitations

Six Australians including five members of the AIS and Golf Australia National Squads have received invitations to the 2010 Asian Amateur Championship played over the West Course at Kasumigaseki Country Club in Saitama, Japan, from October 7-10.
<image="1" align="right" />
Luke Bleumink (VIC), Jake Higginbottom (NSW), Matt Jager (WA), Tarquin Macmanus (QLD) Kieran Pratt (VIC) and Jordan Sheratt (SA) have received invitations.

Invitations have been sent to the leading players from the APGC’s 34 member countries and territories, based on the championship’s qualification criteria. The field is determined by inviting the top two ranked amateur players from each of the APGC members plus the four top ranked players from the host country, as ranked on the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) as of July 31.

If there are an insufficient number of ranked players from a member country, they can nominate a player(s) from their country with an established handicap of less than 5.4, to be approved by the APGC, to fulfil the two positions from that country.

The remainder of the field (maximum 120) will be filled by taking the next highest ranked players of APGC member countries, not otherwise qualified from the WAGR. The maximum number of players from any country is six, with the exception of the host nation with 10.

A 120-player field will compete in the 72-hole stroke play event on the West Course at Kasumigaseki Country Club, located about one hour northwest of Tokyo near historic Kawagoe.

An invitation to play in the 2011 Masters Tournament again awaits the winner, while both the winner and the runner(s)-up will earn a place in International Final Qualifying for The Open Championship next year.