Date: September 09, 2015
Author: Martin Blake

‘Lost for words’ Bowditch in PresCup team


Steven Bowditch has been rewarded for his watershed year with selection in the International team to contest the Presidents Cup in South Korea next month.

It will be the first time Queenslander Bowditch, 32, has played in a Presidents Cup team.

He was chosen as one of the two captain's picks nominated by International team captain Nick Price today, along with Korean Sang Moon Bae, who will give the International team its only home-grown player (although Danny Lee, of New Zealand, was born in Korea).

There are now four Australians — Jason Day, Adam Scott, Marc Leishman and Bowditch — in Price's team.

United States team captain Jay Haas nominated his son Bill and veteran Phil Mickelson as his 11th and 12th players for the event at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Incheon from October 8.

Bowditch won the Byron Nelson tournament on the US PGA Tour this year and is still competing in the tour playoffs with a strong chance to make the top 30 who will contest the Tour Championship in Atlanta.

He missed automatic selection for the Presidents Cup in 2013 by a meagre .0098 points, and was not chosen as a captain's pick. At the time, he was 123rd in the world rankings, but now he is 55th.

The Australian, who was 11th in the order of selection, said he was "lost for words'' at his selection.

The Americans also chose their 11th-ranked player in Mickelson, who has been quiet of late, but captain Haas said it was an obvious selection. Mickelson has played all 10 previous Presidents Cups. "If anyone deserves a pick, it is Phil,'' said Haas.

FINAL TEAMS: INTERNATIONAL — Jason Day, Louis Oosthuizen (S Af), Adam Scott, Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Branden Grace (S Af), Marc Leishman, Anirban Lahiri (India), Charl Schwartzel (S Af), Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand), Danny Lee (NZ), Steven Bowditch, Sang Moon Bae (South Korea). USA — Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Jim Furyk, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar, Chris Kirk, Phil Mickelson, Bill Haas.