Date: June 12, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

Michel claims Par 3 championship title at Kyabram

Kyle Michel has won the 2016 Victorian Men’s Par 3 Championship at Kyabram Parkland.

It was a chilly 1 degree Celsius this morning as players made their way out for the third and final round. With the top 5 players all grouped together off the first hole, the race was on to chase down the clubhouse leader.

Michel made the most of his overnight lead, coming home with 7 straight birdies to post a round of 2 over par 56 and secure him the title. The Victorian State team member’s 54-hole total of 164 included a course record breaking 50 yesterday afternoon, a tremendous feat on such a challenging golf course. Coming in runner-up place was Yarrawonga Mulwala’s Jay-Ar Martin. After almost 5 years away from competitive golf, Martin played steady over the 3 rounds to finish on 173, one shot ahead of Victorian Boy’s State team member Liam Gransden of Commonwealth on 174.

Steve Piddington of Corowa won on a count-back from overnight leader Denis Cooper (Belvoir Park) in the B-grade gross section. Piddington carded a 54-hole total of 197 to tie Cooper, however his 65 today secured him the trophy. Coming in third place was the Kyabram Parkland captain Peter Myers on 199.

The local members made the most of their home ground advantage, dominating in both A and B grade nett sections. Matt Miller of Hill Top was the best in A-Grade, winning on a count-back from Kyabram Parkland’s Cooper Gentle. Both players tied on nett 169, with Miller carding 56 today and Gentle 60. In B-grade, Russell Locke of Kyabram Parkland came in with the best 54-hole nett score, finishing on nett 167 and 2 shots ahead of fellow member John Bauerle on 169.

In a fantastic wrap up the event, 10 players gathered on hole 18 for a nearest the pin shootout for a set of car tyres donated by Kyabram Tyre Service. Michael Smith from Belvoir Park was the lucky recipient after finishing closest to the hole.  

Big thank you to Kyabram Parkland for their assistance in hosting the championship once again and to Kyabram Club for their major sponsorship. The club is the commended on the wonderful hospitality provided to all players and guests over the course of the week. The dedication from the committee members, volunteers and ground staff each day is greatly appreciated from all that attended.

Next year’s championship will be held again at Kyabram Parkland on June 10 & 11, 2017.

Click here for full results, photos and news stories.