Date: January 21, 2016
Author: David Tease, Golf NSW

NSW Amateur Championship ready for liftoff

Over 260 of Australia’s finest amateur golfers plus a host of international competitors will tee off in the 2016 Men’s NSW Medal and Club Champion of Champions, Women’s 72-Hole Stroke Play Championship and NSW Amateur Golf Championships at Riverside Oaks Golf Resort and Lynwood Country Club, in Sydney’s North-West beginning on Wednesday 27th January.

Representatives from Korea, Taiwan, New Zealand, England, Wales, Scotland, Vietnam, Saudi Arabia and Israel are taking part, alongside the cream of Australia’s best amateur golf talent.

Australian Amateur Championship runner-up, Travis Smyth of St. Michael’s Golf Club will be playing alongside international visitor Jack Singh Brar of England, and up and coming star James Conran of Duntry League Country Club Orange. While Women’s Australian Amateur Semi-finalist Celina Yuan will be playing alongside Wu Chia Yen of Taiwan and Korea’s Youn Min Gyeong in the first two rounds of medal play.

203 men and 58 women have entered the Championship, which will see alternate rounds played at the host courses on the first two days before the 36-hole cut, with the final 36 holes played on Friday 29th January at Riverside Oaks Golf Resort.

The top 32 men and 16 women will progress from the Medal event to contest the match play finals to determine the Men’s and Women’s NSW Amateur Golf Champions for 2016.

The Match Play finals will begin on Sunday 31st January and conclude with 36-hole finals on Tuesday 2nd February.

The NSW Amateur Championship has a rich history dating back to 1898, making it one of the state’s oldest sporting events. The honour roll includes champions like Jim Ferrier (1947 PGA Champion) and Michael Campbell (2005 US Open Champion ) who have gone on to win Major Championships.

Recent winners of the NSW Amateur Championship have gone on to make an immediate impact in their golf careers, including 2010 winner Jake Higginbottom (NZ Open Champ 2012), 2013 winner Ben Eccles (2015 NSW Open Champion), and 2014 winner Jarryd Felton (2015 NSW PGA Champion).