Date: April 17, 2011
Author: Christy

Nyngan pair win NSW Sand Greens Fourball at Hay

Sunday 17 April, 2011: Guy Monaghan and David Rose (Nyngan) shot the only sub-par score for the weekend to win the 2011 Men&aposs NSW Sand Greens Fourball Championship, played at Hay Golf Club yesterday and today. Their two round total of 70 stableford points (33 and 37) was two better than Condobolin&aposs Brad Hurley and Zac Mitchell. One stroke further back in third place on a countback were Sand Greens newcomers, Michael and Steven Todd (Randwick). The nett events were dominated by Hay members, with Gary Bush and Dean Smith (49 pts and 47 pts) extending their overnight lead to win by two strokes to Leeton&aposs Phillip Pullen and George Vlatko. One stroke further back were Guyra&aposs Donald Hill and Colin Mulligan. 35 Clubs were represented in the field, with players travelling from Deepwater in the north to Huntingdale (Vic) in the south. Prize List: Winners: Guy Monaghan and David Rose (Nyngan) 33/37: 70 Runners Up: Brad Hurley and Zac Mitchell (Condobolin) 33/35: 68 Third Place: Michael and Steven Todd (Randwick) 32/35: 67 cb Nett Winners: Garry Bush and Dean Smith (Hay) 49/47: 96 Nett Runner Up: Phillip Pullen and George Vlatko (Leeton) 45/49: 94 Nett Third Place: Donal Hill and Colin Mulligan (Guyra): 45/48: 93 18 Holes Saturday: Bayley Pendergast and Greg Read (Cobar) 33cb 18 Holes Sunday: Derek Beehan and Gary Wilkin (Cobar) 34cb 18 Holes Saturday Nett: Martin Jackson and Irish Melia (Hay) 46cb 18 Holes Sunday Nett:Neil Headon and Robert McCully (Hay) 49 Full Results Saturday 16 April, 2011: After the first round, locals Dean Smith and Garry Bush lead the nett section after a fine round of 49 points. The Championship is wide open with four scores of 33 points leading. Pre-event article: A field of 140 (70 pairs) are contesting the 2011 Men&aposs NSW Sand Greens Fourball Championship being held at Hay Golf Club this weekend, Saturday 16 and Sunday 17 April 2011. The Championship will be conducted over two rounds of 18 holes (36 holes), scratch fourball stableford. Handicap events, run in conjunction, will be conducted as two 18-hole fourball stableford events using the stroke index of the club. The entire field will contest all two rounds. The Championship was open to male amateurs whose handicap did not exceed 36.4 strokes at the date of entry. Victors in the nett event in 2010, Coonamble pairing Mark Hoath and Shane Swansborough, will again be back to contest for the title, albeit splitting their successful partnership and playing with different partners this time around. Similarly Championship winner Grant Harding (Young) will be accompanied by Federal Golf Club member, Alan Harrison. There are a host of locals vying for the title, including the pairings of Allan Japp and Ian Morrison, Anthony Woods and Jason Ragg, Cecil Kem and Stan Light, David Melia and Martin Jackson, Dean Smith and Garry Bush, Gregory Croker and Owen Martin, Ian Fayle and Don Low, Ian Sneddon and Frank Towns, Peter Bisset and Robert Hayes, Peter Lugsdin and Geoffrey Wood, Reginald Feld and Rodney Martin, Robert McCully and Neal Headon, and Wes Moorhouse and Neil Jackson. The Championship is a great opportunity for those that live in the country to participate in a State Championship event , remarked Golf NSW Events Manager, Christy Collier. It’s a popular event, not only for the golf, but the social side of things that go along with it as well. It should be a great few days for all the competitors. There are a number of prizes awarded for the Championship: NSW Sand Green Fourball Championship (36 holes scratch) Winner Runner-up Third Place NSW Sand Green Fourball Championship (36 holes nett) Winner Runner-up Third Place 18 Hole Events Round 1 Winner Scratch Round 1 Winner Nett Round 2 Winner Scratch Round 2 Winner – Nett