Date: February 23, 2007
Author: Sportal

O’Hern to face Woods

Nick O&aposHern will face the in-form Tiger Woods in the next round of the Accenture Match Play Championship in Arizona after winning his second round match. O&aposhern will be joined by Aussies Aaron Baddeley and Geoff Ogilvyin the third round. O&aposHern had a two and one victory over Rory Sabbatini holding on to a two-shot lead from the 15th to win with a hole to spare. The Aussie now plays the red-hot Tiger Woods in the next round as the world No. 1 looks to make it eight straight. But O&aposHern will be confident going into the match with a win against Woods two years ago at La Costa. Ogilvy accounted for Spaniard Jose Maria Olazabal after a strong back nine to win the match two and one and has a good chance of progressing with Swede Niclas Fasth his next opponent. Baddeley emerged victorious after a tight tussle with Luke Donald needing the full 18 holes to down the Englishman. He too will play off against a Swede for a place in the next round when he takes on Henrik Stenson. Woods won easily against South African Tim Clark and with Jim Furyk, Phil Mickelson and other top seeds no longer around, he edges closer to extending his PGA Tour winning streak to eight. Woods was 5-up through six holes and was never serious challenged by Tim Clark. The result was a 5 & 4 victory, the shortest match of the second round. Chad Campbell pulled off a valiant rally against Furyk, making an 18-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole to go overtime, then two-putting from 50 feet for birdie to win in 19 holes. Bobby Jones Division Tiger Woods (US) bt Tim Clark (RSA) 5 and 4 Henrik Stenson (Swe) bt K.J. Choi (Kor) 2-up Nick O&aposHern (Aus) bt Rory Sabbatini (RSA) 2 and 1 Aaron Baddeley (Aus) bt Luke Donald (GB) 1-up Ben Hogan Division Trevor Immelman (RSA) bt Chris DiMarco (US) 3 and 1 Charles Howell III (US) bt Sergio Garcia (Spa) 4 and 3 Ian Poulter (GB) bt Bradley Dredge (GB) 3 and 1 Justin Rose (GB) bt Phil Mickelson (US) 3 and 1 Gary Player Division David Toms (US) bt Ben Crane (US) 3 and 2 Stewart Cink (US) bt Padraig Harrington (Irl) 1 up Stephen Ames (Can) bt Vijay Singh (Fij) 19 holes Chad Campbell (US) bt Jim Furyk (US) 19 holes Sam Snead Division Shaun Micheel (US) bt Rod Pampling (Aus) 1 up Geoff Ogilvy (Aus) bt Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa) 2 and 1 Paul Casey (GB) bt Colin Montgomerie (GB) 4 and 3 Niclas Fasth (Swe) bt Retief Goosen (RSA) 1 up