Date: May 07, 2014

Past Captains & Presidents day celebrates 30 year anniversary

Some 70 past Captains and Presidents of Metropolitan Golf Clubs competed at Royal Melbourne on Friday 2 May celebrating the 30th anniversary of the annual event.

This year also marked the retirement from the organising committee of Bruce Bedwell, the founding convenor, and Syd Davis, who has also been on the committee since inception and has participated in all 30 occasions.

Tony Nott, Golf Victoria Board Member, announced that Bruce would become the first Life Member of the Past Captains and Presidents Association. Syd’s contribution was also honoured by GV, with the presentation of an Achievement award.

The winners of the day were Ross Taylor (Cheltenham GC) who won the individual event on a countback with 35 points. Nick Farrell (Sunshine GC) and Rod Hoey (Amstel GC) won the 4-ball event.