Date: May 08, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Pennant: Who will hold aloft the 2013 Simpson Cup

Simpson Cup since 1927 Golf SA Pennant season to commence Sun 12th May The Golf SA Pennant season is commencing Sunday 12th May, with the Men’stop grade The Simpson Cup being played at Highercombe Golf Club. The Simpson Cup is an 8 team Competition, played over a 7 round season (each team plays each other once). The top 2 teams after 7 rounds, play off in the Final on Sunday 7th July at Glenelg Golf Club. Tea Tree Gully, Premiers for the past 3 seasons, have lost 4 players from last years permiership team. Brett Crosby & Paul Wyllie to retirement, Zak Fuller has shifted to Kooyonga and Rudi Du Plooy to The Grange. Greg Blewett remains in the team for another tilt at the title. Kooyonga runner up last season are due for another big season. Hayes, Sommerfield and Bishop are expect to rack up wins and with 3 current Men’sState players, Charles Shaw, Tim Baker and Heath Riches and host of past Junior and Senior Representatives, it wouldn&apost surprise if they go all the way. The Grange Team, Champions from 2007-2009, boast four current Men’sState Team Members; Chris Brown, Anthony Murdaca, Jack Williams and Ben Stowe. Certain finalists if they play anywhere near their best. Mt Lofty, Men&aposs A2 premiers last season have been promoted to the top grade, whilst last years wooden spooners Blackwood, have been relegated to A2. Please refer to our season preview for full team details and season predictions – Click here to view (Simpson Cup Round 1) 12th May at Highercombe GC. 1st Tee 11.15 am Highercombe v TTG 10th Tee 11.15 am Grange v Mount Lofty 1st Tee 12.10 pm Royal Adelaide v Kooyonga 10th Tee 12.10 pm Flagstaff Hill v Glenelg *The Women’s top Pennant grade (A1), a six team competition, commences on Sun 26th May – matches to be played at the same venue as the Simpson Cup.