Date: May 31, 2013
Author: JNJG

School Golf in Full Swing

Golf Championships


<image="1" align="left" />

Students from all over NSW gathered in the Blue Mountains for the annual Newton Shield and Combined High School Golf Championships. These events are stroke events in which school students within NSW and ACT gather and play off against each other.

The Newton Shield is an under 15 event and was held at the Wentworth Falls Golf Club. There was some fantastic golf played by all of the students but it was Josh Armstrong (Burgmann) and Madeleine Nurdi (St Ursula’s) that emerged victorious as the Overall Boys and Girls Scratch Winners. Madeleine's sister Teresa Nurdi (St Ursula's) captured the Overall Girls Nett prize while Richmond High School's Jaid Nelson took out the Overall Boys Nett.

The Combined High Schools (CHS) Championship took place at the same time at the Blackheath Golf Course and it took a six hole playoff to decide the winner of the Overall Boys Scratch. Fidel Concepcion (Mitchell HS) held off Zac Stolz (Karabar HS) to take out the championship.

In the Overall Girls Scratch Sheridan Gorton (Wallumbin HS) dominated the event finishing five shots clear of her nearest rival.  Brianna Baird (Mackellar Girls) and Eli Simon (Westfields HS) won the Overall Girls and Boys Nett events.

This year JNJG have decided they will be taking a schools team to travel to New Zealand in January 2014 to play against three provincial teams and to participate in the North Island Under 19 Championships. This will be a 12 player team and includes the Boys and Girls Scratch and Nett Winners from the Newton Shield and the CHS Championship. The final four players will be the Boys and Girls Scratch and Nett winners from the Primary Schools Sports Association (PSSA) Championships, which will be held at Port Macquarie in September.

Current JNJG Team: Fidel Concepcion, Sheridan Gorton, Eli Simon, Brianna Baird, Josh Armstrong, Madeleine Nurdi, Jaid Nelson and Teresa Nurdi.

For full results from the Newton Shield and the CHS Championship click here.

Fidel Concepcion

Eli Simon

Sheridan Gorton

Brianna Baird