Date: May 13, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Simpson Cup Rd 1 – Highercombe defeat reigning Premiers

Highercombe&aposs Ben Hallam in action during the 2011 A2 Pennant Final Metropolitan Pennant – Round 1 summary For the second year in a row, starting the season on their home track, Highercombe has caused a boil over by defeating Tea Tree Gully 4.5 – 2.5. After having defeated The Grange first up last season, Highercombe s win over Tea Tree Gully, premiers the past three years, would rank as the Clubs greatest pennant win. In other matches Glenelg defeated Flagstaff Hill 4.5-2.5, Kooyonga accounted for Royal Adelaide 5-2 and The Grange defeated newcomers Mt Lofty 5.5-1.5. Tea Tree Gully gained the upper hand early with wins to number 7 Matt McMahon over Scott Mills 1up and number 5 Chris Noon 6&4 over Andrew Couzner, however Highercombe s middle order was dominant. Ben Hallam, Ben Jaffer and Nick May all had comfortable victories over Admundson, Thomson and Blewett respectively, while number 6 Adam Husdell grinded out a win 2up over Ryan White. Highercombe Captain Mark Deacon used all his experience to square the number one match with Chris Austin to start the celebrations. Glenelg took the lead early in its match with Flagstaff Hill, with wins to Andrew Grzybowski 5&4 over Dale Baker, Josh Hayes 2&1 over Brad Manton and Matt Overall 1 up over Mark Hopf. At number 2 Lachlan Booth defeated Jacob Sewell 2&1 to secure the vital fourth game for Glenelg. For Flaggy, Brad Stenner won his match against Matt McGowan 2/1 while Scott Ready at number 1 defeated Campbell Rawson securing a second point. The fourth contest between Glenelg s Anthony Olsen and James Coulson was squared, resulting in the 4.5-2.5 victory in favour of Glenelg. Kooyonga will be delighted with its first up 5-2 win over Royal Adelaide. Like last season s opening round Nathan Baulderstone was the only Royal player with an outright win, with his 1up effort over Jordan Bishop. Royal s other point came from squared matches between Matt Lawson and Will Somerfield and the number one match of Louis Fuller versus Stephen Speirs. Koooyonga s John Hayes and Heath Riches both had 3&2 wins over their opponents Tom Cooper and Cameron Baulderstone, while Daniel Speirs accounted for Stephen Hudson 2&1 and at number 2 Tim Baker defeated Patric Kroschel 4&3. The Grange side were dominant across the board in its 5.5-1.5 defeat of Mt Lofty. Grange s victorious players were Justin Crowder (3&2 over Nigel Hayes), Ben Stowe (6&5 over David Henshaw), Chris Brown (4&3 over Dylan Goers), Matthew Lisk (3&2 over Phil Roberts) and number one player Anthony Murdaca particularly impressive winning 5&4 over Ty Turnbull. Mount Lofty s solitary game came courtesy of Tim Atze who fought hard to defeat Jack Williams 2up while number 6 Kym Rivett squared his match with Nick Cheary. Next week s round two matches are held at Tea Tree Gully with the host side set for an enthralling contest with Kooyonga. In other matches Glenelg should account for Mount Lofty and Grange would be confident against Flagstaff Hill. The match between Royal Adelaide and Highercombe should be a tight battle. For the Pennant Competition page CLICK HERE For Simpson Cup Rd 1 Results – CLICK HERE Round 2 (19th May at Tea Tree Gully GC) 1st Tee 11.15 am Tea Tree Gully v Kooyonga 10th Tee 11.15 am Glenelg v Mount Lofty 1st Tee 12.10 pm Royal Adelaide v Highercombe 10th Tee 12.10 pm Grange v Flagstaff Hill