Date: January 20, 2016
Author: Golf Tasmania

Tasmanian Women’s Team Announced

Tasmania is pleased to announce the 2016 Tasmanian Women’s Team.

Ulverstone Golf Club’s Sarah Johnstone has been named Captain of the team and this is her fourth year in the role.

Johnstone will lead the six woman team that will contest the Australian Women’s Interstate Team Matches in Brisbane during May.

Johnstone’s squad this year will include the likes of Port Sorell Golf Club’s Sharon Crowden and Royal Hobart’s Pamela Chen.

Tasmania Golf Club young guns Zahara Lemon (16) and Georgia Milbourne (17) will make their third appearance in the Tasmanian women’s team.

New member to the team in 2016 is 24-year-old Penguin Golf Club member Kalynda Cowen.

Cowen is making her return to the national scene after having previously represented Tasmania in the Northern Territory in 2009.

Seabrook Golf Club Professional Zak Rollins has been named as Coach and Royal Hobart Golf Club member Zibeth Daubenton will manage the team in this her first year in role.

Each State and the Northern Territory play each other over singles match play in a round robin format, concluding with a Final and each women's teams consist of six players.

The Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches will be conducted at the Royal Queensland Golf Club, Brisbane from May 10-12.

The Australian Women's Interstate Teams Matches are Australia's pinnacle Amateur Team Golf Championships.

WOMEN’S TEAM:  Pamela Chen – Royal Hobart, Kalynda Cowen – Penguin, Sharon Crowden – Port Sorell, Sarah Johnstone (Captain) – Ulverstone, Zahara Lemon – Tasmania, Georgia Milbourne – Tasmania, Zak Rollins (Coach) – Seabrook and Zibeth Daubenton (Manager) – Royal Hobart.