Date: July 03, 2011

Tea Tree Gully win 2011 Simpson Cup

2011 Simpson Cup champions Tea Tree Gully Tea Tree Gully have repeated last year&aposs final success, in defeating The Grange 5 1/2 matches to 1 1/2 in today&aposs Simpson Cup final at Kooyonga Golf Club. While the match looked evenly poised early in the contests, Tea Tree Gully ultimately proved too strong across the board in a series of tight matches. For Tea Tree Gully, Zak Fuller, Ryan White, Luke Steele, Paul Wyllie and Brett Crosby all won their respective matches, with Greg Blewett playing out an exciting squared match against Grange&aposs Alex Hendrick. In the top match, Grange&aposs captain Tom Bond defeated his Tea Tree Gully counterpart Chris Austin 1-up. The closest contests of the day were in the leading matches, with Zak Fuller defeating Jake Laubsch 2-up and Ryan White emerging triumphant in a seesawing contest against Matt Lisk by the same score. Also for Tea Tree Gully, Luke Steele defeated Sam Masters 3&2, while Paul Wyllie always held the advantage over Anthony Murdaca, eventually taking the contest 2&1. The match between Brett Crosby and Chris Brown was also a tight affair, with Crosby holding on to win 1-up. Today&aposs Simpson Cup win was Tea Tree Gully&aposs third senior Pennant title. For all results click here for the Pennant events page. Video Highlights