Date: August 23, 2011

Teams Named for Interstate Series

Australia s best golfers have been named to contest the Australian Men’sand Women’s Interstate Teams Matches to be played in Perth from 13-16 September 2011. The Australian Men’sInterstate Teams Matches at Royal Perth Golf Club will showcase the most talented players in the men’s amateur ranks. Favourites for the men’s event are defending champions Queensland, who will be headlined by Australian Men’sStroke Play and Australian Boys Amateur Champion Cameron Smith. Smith is coming off great form after recently taking out the individual honours at the Nomura Cup. The New South Wales team is also a favourite and includes Australian Amateur Champion and National Squad Member Matt Stieger, as well as Smith s Nomura Cup team mates Jake Higginbottom and Daniel Bringolf. Riversdale Cup winner Nathan Holman headlines the Victorian team whilst the South Australian team will see Srixon Australian Amateur Quarter Finalist Brad Moules take charge. National Squad member Ryan McCarthy leads the Tasmanian team while Western Australia will be highlighted by Lake Macquarie Amateur winner Brady Watt. The competition will be equally fierce at The Western Australian Golf Club as Australia s best women compete for the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup in the Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches. Joint defending Champions Queensland will be headlined by Royal Canberra Ladies Classic winner and National Squad Member Ashley Ona. Victoria, who shared the trophy with Queensland last year, will be led by National Squad member Breanna Elliot, as well as newly crowned Australian citizen Su-Hyun Oh. Australian Amateur runner up and National Squad member Minjee Lee will lead the Western Australian side who will be hard to beat in their home state, whilst Australian Amateur champion Ashlee Dewhurst will highlight the Tasmanian team. New South Wales features Julia Boland who has returned to Australia after completing her studies in the United States and South Australia will be headlined by South Australian Amateur champion Sarah King. The event is embarking on an exciting era, with a revised format for 2011. Whilst retaining the traditional match play format, this year will see a Final contested between the two teams who finish with the most contest wins after five rounds of singles match play. The introduction of the Final will ensure an exciting conclusion to the event, and will further develop Australia s elite golfers in requiring them to play in a pressure situation. The Championships are Australia s premier teams championships, with the men’s event having been played since 1894, the women’s since 1897. Entry is free for spectators, so golf enthusiasts are encouraged to watch the state versus state rivalry. For further information Australian Women&aposs Interstate Teams Matches Australian Men&aposs Interstate Teams Matches