Date: March 03, 2017
Author: PGA of Australia

Qld Golf Industry Awards finalists announced

Recognition of industry leaders for Queensland golf awards

The Queensland Golf Industry is pleased to announce the finalists for their upcoming Awards Night incorporating the PGA Trainee graduation to be held at Jupiters Gold Coast on Tuesday 21st March 2017. Represented by the PGA (QLD/NT Division), Golf Queensland, Golf Course Superintendants Association of QLD and Golf Managers Association, the QLD Golf Industry Awards Nights acknowledges the achievements the finalists have accomplished throughout 2016.

With a large number of nominations received for each award it was encouraging to see so many individuals recognised for their tireless efforts in assisting the growth and development of golf within the state of Queensland. Having all areas of the industry being represented by the governing bodies, the night is truly an evening that is dedicated to personalities that are involved in the game whether it be playing or teaching the game, managing the facilities that allow it to be experienced or those that volunteer their time and instill so much of their passion toward assisting where needed.

The finalists for their respective awards are:


Club Professional of the Year Award

Adam Norlander – Headland Golf Club
Chris Graham – Ocean Shores Golf & Country Club
Jared Love – Windaroo Lakes Golf Club
Joe Janison – Brisbane Golf Club
John Victorsen Jnr – Wantima Golf & Country Club
Matt King – Wynnum Golf Club
Paul Orchard – Surfers Paradise Golf Club
Tim Porter – Victoria Park Golf Complex

Teaching Professional of the Year Award

Brett Maxwell – Virginia Golf Club
Darren Weatherall – Golf Central
In Jun (Chris) Lee – ANK Golf
Jay Simpson – First Swing
Joel Mercieca – KDV Sport
John Collins – Brookwater Golf Club
Josh Smith – Emerald Lakes Golf Learning Centre
Richard Woodhouse – KDV Sport
Sean Dwyer – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Tom Berndt – Hills International

PGA Manager of the Year

Declan McCollam – Paradise Palms
Darren Richards – Ipswich Golf Club
Stephen Hutchison – Twin Waters Golf Club

PGA Coach of the Year

Ben Cronk – Chinderah Golf Club
Colin Swatton
Grant Field – Grant Field Golf
Ian Triggs – Triggs Lynch Golf
Jim Barden – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Ken Berndt – Hills International
Richard Woodhouse – KDV Sport

Community Leadership Award

David Hughes
Grant Harriman
Paul Hayden
Steven Jeffress

Trainee of the Year Award

Jacki Marshall
Jacob Boyce
Kylie Close
Paul Griffiths
William White

Tournament of the Year Award

Bartons/BMD Wynnum Pro-Am
City of Brisbane Pro-Am
Morobe Open
Qantas Golf Club Cairns Classic
Southport Pro-Am

Metropolitan Tournament of the Year Award

Bartons/BMD Wynnum Pro-Am
Breaka’s Beach Resort Vanuatu Virginia Pro-Am
City of Brisbane Pro-Am
Maroochy River Pro-Am
Southport Pro-Am

Regional Tournament of the Year Award

Crowe Horwath Yamba Pro-Am
Ian Weigh Toyota Rockhampton Pro-Am
Lismore Pro-Am
Murwillumbah Pro-Am
Qantas Golf Club Cairns Classic

Legends Pro-Am of the Year Award

Australian Legends Pro-Am
Brisbane Legends Invitational
Ken Barton Memorial Wynnum Legends Pro-Am
Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Royal Queensland Legends Pro-Am
Sunshine Coast Masters

Superintendents Achievement Award

Danny Foott – Links Hope Island
Jason Lavender – Riverlakes Golf Club
Kirk Heald – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Mick Kelly – Middle Ridge Golf Club
Mitch Hayes – Brisbane Golf Club
Phil Soegaard – Lakelands Golf Club
Rob Weiks – Brookwater Golf Club

Apprentice of the Year

Christopher Zeal – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Lachlan Weston – Howeston Golf Club

Assistant Superintendent Recognition Award

Garry Kunz – Byron Bay Golf Club
Tony Anderson – Ballina Golf & Sports Club
Trevor Honnery – Southport Golf Club


GOLF Queensland

Volunteer of the Year Award

Bill Boucaut – Headland Golf Club
Greg Tattam – Windaroo Lakes Golf Club
Mark Morse – Riverlakes Golf Club
Matt McCarthy – Rowes Bay Golf Club



Club of the Year Award

Ballina Golf & Sports Club
Carbrook Golf Club
City Golf Club
Keperra Golf Club
Links Hope Island
Redcliffe Golf Club
Redland Bay Golf Club
Victoria Park Golf Complex
Windaroo Lakes Golf Club

Manager of the Year Award

Ben Dobson – Headland Golf Club
Geoff Kuehner – Brisbane Golf Club
Jason Looker – Caloundra Golf Club
Mark Whiting – Ballina Golf & Sports Club
Paul Fitzpatrick – Redland Bay Golf Club
Stephen Hutchison – Twin Waters Golf Club
Tracey Lea Tiley – Links Hope Island

Board Member of the Year Award

John Alsbury – Headland Golf Club
Owen Ed Britnell – City Golf Club
Peter Barney – Windaroo Lakes Golf Club

Staff Member of the Year Award

Ivan Nott – Links Hope Island
Janet Dinnes – Middleridge Golf Club
Jeff James – Victoria Park Golf Club
Kate Ross – Emerald Lakes Golf Club
Tim Lynch – Victoria Park Golf Club

QLD Golf Industry Awards

Supplier of the Year Award

Amadio Wines
Coca Cola Amatil
John Deere
Mpower MSL

Junior Golf Program of the Year Award

Brookwater Golf Club
KDV Sport
Pacific Golf Club
Redcliffe Golf Club
Rowes Bay Golf Club
Victoria Park Golf Complex
Windaroo Lakes Golf Club