Date: October 31, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

SA Country Men�s State Team defeat Country Victoria

The Men's South Australian Country team has defeated the Victorian Country team for the first time since 2007 in the annual match played this year at Naracoorte GC over the weekend 29-30 October.

The eight man teams competed in the multi-formatted event which sees foursomes matches played on the opening Saturday morning, four-ball matches in the afternoon and individual match play to conclude on Sunday morning.

This year's match was once again a tight affair, with the result on a knife's edge at four matches all heading into this morning's singles matches after both teams could not be separated at the conclusion of the foursomes and fourball matches.

In the end, it was the South Australian Country team who revelled in the pressure cooker atmosphere of the final singles matches, proving too strong winning five of the eight matches to break an eight-year winless drought in this event and take the shield back to South Australia with a 9.5 matches to 6.5 matches win.

This year's match was once again played in great spirit, with Naracoorte GC also to be acknowledged as wonderful hosts once again of this event.

The South Australian country team consisted of Tim Atze (Pinnaroo), Chris Burns (Mount Compass), Darren Bilney, Daryl Morgan and Anthony Williams (Mount Gambier), James Norcock (Naracoorte), Nathan Ramsey (Maitland) and Ryan Wheeler (Kadina)

The team was managed by SA Golf Hall of Fame Member Peter Howard and Golf SA Board Member/Country Committee Chair Bill Klaebe.

The Victorian Country team consisted of: Captain – Kyle Michel (Shepparton), Clint Foster (Portland), Brett Kellow (Mooroopna), Simon Goggin (Warrnambool), Rod Gillin (Horsham), Casey Schmidt (Horsham), Chris Tomlinson (Cobram-Barooga) & Shane Grover (Nhill).

The Victorian team was managed by Western District Men’s Secretary, John Snowden.

The match has been played since 1989, annually alternating between Victoria and South Australia and provides a high standard match for the leading country players from both states.

The annual match will return to be hosted in Victoria in 2017.

> Results here