Date: June 22, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

Women�s Aus Open Sweep Winner: Morgan-Cadell GC

Morgan-Cadell Golf Club has been presented with a Women’s Australian Open framed pin flag, signed by the 2016 Champion Haru Nomura, after winning the championship sweep.

To increase local interest in the 2016 Women’s Australian Open held at The Grange Golf Club in Adelaide, Golf SA conducted a sweep, where all 146 affiliated SA Golf Clubs, were randomly drawn a player competing in the Championship. There were 156 Competitors, so 10 clubs were drawn a second player.

The Club whose player won the Championship would receive a Women’s Open pin flag signed by the Champion while other prizes were awarded for second, third, greens in regulation and putting average.

Morgan-Cadell Golf Club situated in the mid north district 160 km north east of Adelaide drew Japan’s Haru Nomura, who went on to win the title by three strokes finishing 16-under.

Golf SA Board Member Bill Klaebe, presented the prize at the Morgan-Cadell Teams Stableford Event, which attracted teams of four from Kapunda, Riverton, Clare, Balaklava, and Saddleworth.

Klaebe’s team from Clare, which also included Philip Skeers, Ash Bourne and Shaun Bennett were the winners on the day with a score of 9-under.

“Morgan-Cadell Golf Club is a small club with 11 members, the course was flooded by 12-18 inches of water after a 7 inch downfall that came across the plains last summer, so the club was hit hard.” Klaebe said.

“The 11 members have gone out and repaired all the damage, paved out the front of the clubhouse and erected a dedicated BBQ shed, the improvements that they have done have been fantastic, it’s a credit to them.”

Klaebe said the Club were ecstatic with winning the club sweep.

“I was asked the day before if I had the prize and again twice on the day. The club said it was going to take up a very prominent place in their clubhouse and this was going to be a real feature”.

Championship SWEEP– Final Placings

Winner -16 Haru Nomura (Japan) > Morgan-Cadell Golf Club

Second -13 Lydia Ko (New Zealand) > Mt Pleasant Golf Club

Third -9 Karrie Webb (Australia) > Kingston Golf Club

Putting Average 27.75 Putts (1.54) Kelly Tan (Malaysia) > Pinnaroo Golf Club

Greens in Regulation15.25 (85%) Brooke Henderson (Canada) > Kyancutta GC

<image="2" align="left" />

ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open

It was announced by the Sport Minister Hon. Leon Bignell on 16 November 2015 that SA would host the Women’s Australian Open for the next three years.

The Grange Golf Club hosted the first year in Feb 2016 with great success with over 30,000 spectators attending which was a record crowd over the 4 days.

Next year, in Feb 2017 Royal Adelaide is hosting the championship to help celebrate the club’s 125th anniversary, and Kooyonga will be the 2018 venue.

The Women’s Australian Open is tri-sanctioned by the LPGA Tour, LET and ALPG, ensuring that it is one of very few truly global golf events staged in Oceania annually.