Date: November 19, 2006

2006 Australian Golf media award winners

At a glittering Australian Golf Writers Association annual dinner at the Concord Golf Club in Sydney on Saturday, presentations of the Australian Golf Media Awards were made to some of the best known names in Australian golfing media. The awards, which this year were sponsored by the four peak golfing bodies in the country namely Golf Australia, the Australasian PGA Tour, PGA of Australia and Australian Ladies Professional Golf (ALPG), were created for media professionals who cover Australian golf and golfers in print, internet, radio, television and through photography. The judging panel consisted of noted sports journalist Jim Webster OAM, Judith Coen representing the Australasian PGA Tour, Toni Patsalides from PGA of Australia, Matthew Vagg from Golf Australia and Sandra Lonergan from the ALPG. The guest list which was a who&aposs who of the Australian golf industry and which included Mr Pat Scullion the Irish Consul General whose country this year hosted the Ryder Cup, toasted a variety of winners who were judged to be the best in their fields. The winners in the various categories were: – Photojournalism – Best Photograph Newspaper, David Kapernick, The Courier Mail Brisbane – Photojournalism – Best Photo Magazine, David Callow, Australian Golf Digest – Television – Best Feature Story/ Report, Matt Parslow, Fox Sports – Electronic Media – (Radio/Internet) Best Feature Story/Report, Graeme Bond, Southern Cross Broadcasters (3AW) – Print – Best Column Provincial or Suburban Newspaper, George Begg, Star Newsgroup Melbourne – Print – Best Feature Story Amateur Golf, Brendan Moloney, GOLF Magazine. – Print – Best Report Newspaper, Peter Stone, Sydney Morning Herald – Print – Best Feature Story Newspaper, Bernie Pramberg, Courier Mail Brisbane (Q Weekend) – Print – Best Feature/Story Magazine, Brendan James, Golf Australia Magazine. Also on the night Australian golfers Greg Norman and Michael Sim were honoured with special awards. Norman was chosen as the AGWA 2006 Honouree of the Year for his services to golf in Australia, while Sim was awarded the Rookie of the Year.