Date: December 11, 2008


2006 US Open champion and 2008 World Golf Championship winner Geoff Ogilvy will be the first to tee off on the 10th hole to headline the opening of the 2008 Australian Open this morning at The Royal Sydney Golf Club. The Victorian is joined by a host of the world&aposs top players including iconic American John Daly, Northern Ireland&aposs Darren Clarke and former champions Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, Peter Lonard and defending champion Craig Parry. It will be the first Australian Open for five-time European Ryder Cup team member Clarke. A former winner of the Bridgestone Invitational, WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship and this year s winner of the BMW Asian Open and KLM Open in the Netherlands, the Ulsterman looks in good touch. John Senden will hope to relive his previous glory at Royal Sydney, where he lifted the cup in 2006. Adding to the world-class Australian line-up are Richard Green, South African Tim Clarke and Sydney s own big-hitter Won Joon Lee. Don&apost miss a minute of the action with livescoring by clickinghere.