Date: July 08, 2010

2011 Championship returns to Commonwealth

Golf Australia is pleased to announce that Melbourne s Commonwealth Golf Club has been selected to host the 2011 Handa Women’s Australian Open from 3-6 February. Following an outstanding 2010 championship and on the strength of player feedback, the championship will be held at the same course in consecutive years for the first time since 2002. In 2010, the championship became the first major tournament to be held at Commonwealth Golf Club in more than 40 years as World Number 5 Yani Tseng lifted the Patricia Bridges Bowl for the first time. Commonwealth Golf Club President Heather Scales said the club was looking forward to another great championship in 2011. “We are delighted that the HANDA Women&aposs Australian Open will be played at Commonwealth again in 2011, Mrs Scales said. With a quality field of national and international players now having experienced the challenges of Commonwealth , we expect to see more exciting golf and fantastic scoring. We know that the international field will once again enjoy the test and we look forward to crowning a new champion in February 2011. Golf Australia CEO Stephen Pitt said the championship would build on the success of the 2010 event. We are looking forward to returning to Commonwealth for the second year in a row, Pitt said. We had wonderful feedback on the strength of the course and its condition from both Australian and international players so we re very happy to be at Commonwealth again. The Handa Women’s Australian Open has a rich history with winners holding 31 Major championship victories and five World Golf Hall of Fame memberships between them. The title s former champions include Karrie Webb, Annika Sorenstam, Laura Davies, Sophie Gustafson and Yani Tseng.