Date: May 20, 2011
Author: Christy

2011 Men’s NSW Mid-Amateur Championship

Click here for Photo Gallery Day 2, Friday 20 May 2011 Click here for Leaderboard A play-off was required to determine the winner of the NSW Mid Amateur Championship at Cypress Lakes Golf Resort. A birdie at the first play-off hole (17th hole) by Michael Neaton (Rockhampton) secured the Championship. Overnight leader and defending Champion, Guy Wall (Pymble) came back to the field after a second round six over par 78. He was joined in the play-off by Queensland&aposs Michael Neaton and Liverpool&aposs Daniel Nichols. Winner – Michael Neaton (Rockhampton) 72/74: 146 (play-off) Runner-Up: Daniel Nichols (Liverpool) 73/73: 146 Third Place: Guy Wall (Pymble) 68/78: 146 Round 1 Scratch Winner Graeme Howland (Dunheved) 73cb Round 2 Scratch Winner Dan Swain (Coffs Harbour) 73cb Round 1 Nett Winner Matt Doughty (Royal Sydney) 71cb Round 2 Nett Winner Adam Rorke (Bankstown) 71 Day 1, Thursday 19 May 2011 Defending NSW Mid Amateur Champion, Guy Wall, has a commanding four stroke lead after round one at Cypress Lakes Golf Resort today. Wall, from Pymble Golf Club, started his round with a birdie three and completed his first nine holes in 32 strokes (3 under par). Two more birdies and a bogey on the back nine completed his round of 68 (4 under par). Guy Wall playing from the 10th tee Queensland s Michael Neaton is in second place following an even par round of 72. One stroke further back is Liverpool s Daniel Nichols and Dunheved s Graeme Howland. Pre Event Article The 2011 Men’sNSW Mid-Amateur Championship is being held at Cypress Lakes Golf Club on Thursday 19 and Friday 20 May, 2011. The Championship is open to male amateurs who are between 30-54 years, with a handicap of 9.4 and under. It is stroke play over two rounds of 18 holes. 2010 Champion, Pymble s Guy Wall, will again be back to defend his title. He will be joined by a host of recognized mid-amateur golfers, including Ian Bradley (The Australian Golf Club) , Michael Gerstenberg (Goulburn Golf Club) and John McMiles (Liverpool Golf Club). There are a number of prizes awarded for the Championship, including: Winner Runner-Up Third Place Round 1 Scratch Winner Round 2 Scratch Winner Round 1 Nett Winner Round 2 Nett Winner Results and prize winners will be available online at For further information on this event please contact Graeme Phillipson