Date: November 17, 2011

2011 Rankings Systems winners

The best performed and most consistent players have been recognised following the conclusion of the 2011 Australian Amateur Ranking Systems. The results of over 70 ranking events across Australia during the last 12 months were collated to determine the winners. The Men’sRankings was won by 2011 Australian Amateur Champion Matthew Stieger from St Michael s Golf Club in NSW, with an impressive eight top five finishes in Ranking Events. Lake Karrinyup s Jessica Speechley won the Women’s Rankings, courtesy of three wins in Ranking Events and a semi-final appearance at the Australian Amateur. The Boys Rankings was won by Ricky Kato from Bonnie Doon Golf Club in Sydney, courtesy of a win at the Srixon International Classic, as well as three other top five finishes. 2011 Australian Girls Amateur Champion, Cathleen Santoso from The Lakes Golf Club in Sydney capped off a great year by winning the Girls Rankings. The Men’sand Women’s Senior Rankings, for players aged 55 years and over, saw the continued domination of Stefan Albinski from Mona Vale Golf Club on Sydney s northern beaches. Albinski won the Australian Senior Amateur and the Australian Senior Match Play Championship, as well as the SA, WA and Victorian Senior Amateurs. In the Women’s Senior Rankings, Sylvia Donohoe from Narooma Golf Club on NSW s south coast, with her seventh win in the Australian Women’s Senior Amateur and a runner up performance in the NSW Senior Amateur, took the title for the second time. The Ranking Events again saw over 3,500 players from around Australia and the world compete, with the Systems continuing to provide vast interest for golfers of all ages and genders. The Systems are provided as a service to Australian golf as well as to achieve the following objectives: To replace the use of handicaps as the primary entry standard for national amateur championships. This will provide a fairer and better outcome for players, and Golf Australia encourages all other domestic operators of elite amateur events to consider adopting the same improved procedure. To be used as a supporting tool for team selection. To increase participation in the events which count towards a player s Ranking Average. Each System is points-based, and operates over a 12-month rolling period. All National Championships and each State s Amateur Championships in the respective Systems count towards a player s average, in addition to various other major events nominated by the States. Players points are determined by their finishing positions in each event and the events themselves are weighted according to the field strength. Summary: Men’sRankings: 1. Matthew Stieger (NSW) 98.06 2. Brett Drewitt (NSW) 85.31 3. Ben Campbell (NZL) 77.95 Women’s Rankings: 1. Jessica Speechley (WA) 113.22 2. Ashley Ona (Qld) 104.63 3. Breanna Elliott (Vic) 102.99 Boys Rankings: 1. Ricky Kato (NSW) 120.25 2. Oliver Goss (WA) 116.08 3. Lucas Herbert (Vic) 107.29 Girls Rankings: 1. Cathleen Santoso (NSW) 164.38 2. Minjee Lee (WA) 153.50 3. Su-Hyun Oh (Vic) 138.40 Senior Men’sRankings: 1. Stefan Albinski (NSW) 151.73 2. Denis Dale (NSW) 111.88 3. Roy Vandersluis (NSW) 101.73 Senior Women’s Rankings: 1. Sylvia Donohoe (NSW) 137.50 2. Wendy O Connell (Qld) 115.80 3. Josie Ryan (Qld) 105.20