Date: June 17, 2012

2012 GV – Volunteer of the Year Awards – Winners

Neangar Park duo Yvonne Boyd & Jan Conder; Kingston Heath’s Coralie Cazaly and John Snowden from Mortlake have been awarded the 2012 Golf Victoria Volunteer of the Year Awards.

The majority of Victoria’s golf clubs, District Associations and Leagues are significantly assisted by volunteers who contribute their time, knowledge and talent in a variety of ways.  Many volunteers have provided outstanding service over long periods of time. The awards are an opportunity to provide recognition to the “unsung heroes” of Victorian golf.
In introducing these awards for the first time in 2011, the Golf Victoria Board felt it most important that the contributions made to Victorian Golf by men and women on an annual basis be formally recognised and celebrated.
Once again this year, all clubs, Districts, Leagues and individual golf club members were encouraged to nominate individuals who have made a significant voluntary contribution to golf at club, District or State level. Golf Victoria sincerely thanks all those that took the time to nominate many worthy people.  
Following the close of nominations, a selection panel chaired by Golf Victoria Board Member Lee Wills assessed submissions; determined finalists and an eventual winner for the following categories:
– Melbourne Metropolitan Area – Women’s Award
– Country Victoria – Men’s Award
– Country Victoria – Women’s Award

No nominees were received for the Metropolitan Men’s Award in 2012.

 The finalists for the 2012 Women’s Country Volunteer of the Year were:

  • Yvonne Boyd & Jan Conder (joint nomination) – Neangar Park Golf Club – nominated for services to junior golf development including school liaison & conduct of clinics, camps and events.

  • Joye Burton – RACV Torquay Golf Club – nominated for services to women’s golf administration including 25 years involvement with the South Western District Ladies Golf Association. Joye has been actively involved with rules education; course rating, event administration and developed the SWDLGA Website.

  • Mary Campbell – Trentham Golf Club – nominated for golf administration and governance services to the Dalhousie District and Romsey and Trentham Golf Clubs over a 22 year time span.

  • Una Feldtmann – Cosgrove Golf Club – nominated for 27 years of service to the Cosgrove Golf Club including administration duties; course maintenance and clubhouse upkeep. A life member at the club, Una also served for three years as Captain of the Goulburn Valley Ladies Golf Association.

  • Kaye Riddle – Hamilton Golf Club – nominated for golf administration and governance services to the club including roles of Club Treasurer and Board member for the past two years.

Winners: – Yvonne Boyd & Jan Conder

The finalists for the 2012 Women’s City Volunteer of the Year were:

  • Coralie Cazaly – Kingston Heath Golf Club – nominated for her longstanding and ongoing involvement in junior golf development both at club and State Level.
  • Glenyse Addicoat – Devil Bend Golf Club – nominated for her involvement in handicapping; course rating and women’s golf administration at club, District and State Level.

Winner: Coralie Cazaly

2012 Men’s Country Volunteer of the Year Winner:

John Snowden – Mortlake Golf Club – A former VGA Council Member, John has served on the Corangamite Men’s District Executive since 1981 including the last 22 years as District Secretary. John has been involved in all aspects of the game including event administration; junior development; course rating and rules education.

John has also been a member of the Mortlake Club Committee for over 20 years and been a key volunteer at the club including regularly mowing fairways