Date: November 14, 2011
Author: Christy Collier

2012 Men’s NSW Amateur C’ship


The 2012 Men’sNSW Amateur Championship, incorporating the NSW Medal and the 2011 NSW Champion of Champions, is the first major Championship of the year for Golf NSW. It is a major national amateur tournament, and a National and World Ranking Event. The NSW Amateur Championship is open to male amateur golfers who hold a current Australian or overseas equivalent handicap that does not exceed 5.4. 2011 Club Champions from NSW Golf Clubs are eligible to enter the Championship if their handicap is greater than 5.4. The NSW Medal will be played at Mona Vale and Long Reef Golf Clubs on 1, 2 & 3 February 2012. It is four rounds of 18 holes stroke play, played over three days – 18 holes on the first day (Wednesday), 18 holes on the second day (Thursday), and 36 holes on the third day (Friday). The field is evenly divided between the two venues for the first day s play with players changing venues for their second round on the Thursday. The leading 60 players plus ties after the first 36 holes qualify for the final 36 holes on the third day, which will be played at Long Reef Golf Club. The winner of the 72 holes stroke play section of the Championship is the winner of the 2012 NSW Medal. The 2011 Champion of Champions will be played in conjunction with the first 36 holes of the Medal. The leading 32 players from the NSW Medal will be eligible to compete in the NSW Amateur Championship Match Play. Each match is played over 18 holes other than the Final which is played over 36 holes. The match play will be seeded, and will be played at Elanora Country Club on 6-8 February 2012. The morning session on the first day (Monday) will see all 32 players compete. The afternoon session will have the winning 16 players from the morning session playing another round. Tuesday s morning session, the quarter finals, has eight players competing, while the afternoon session and semi-final will see the top four players challenging for a spot in the Final. Wednesday 8 February is the Final, and the top two players will battle it out over 36 holes to be crowned the 2012 NSW Amateur Champion. The NSW Amateur Championship is the oldest major event conducted by Golf NSW, having first been played in 1898. The list of former winners contains a who s who of NSW and Australian Golf greats including the likes of Bruce Devlin, Jack Newton, Tony Gresham, Brett Ogle, Peter O Malley, Michael Campbell and Brendan Jones. The event attracts a host of NSW State, Colts and Junior representative players, interstate visitors and international players from around the globe.

Entries are now open [CLICK HERE] and close 13 January 2012. All results will be available online during the Championship.