Date: May 21, 2012

2012 Pennant Finals – Results

Yarra Yarra has won the 2012 Men’s Division 1 Pennant final while Kingston Heath has taken out the Women’s Division 1 final played at the Peninsula Country Golf Club on Sunday May 20th.

Click here for all Results from the 2012 Pennant Finals.
Click here for all Photos of 2012 Men’s Divisional Winners
Click here for all Photos of 2012 Women’s Divisional Winners
Click here for all Photos of 2012 Colts Divisional Winners

On a perfect sunny, Melbourne Autumn day, Yarra Yarra took out the men’s final with a four match to three victory over Commonwealth. While the eventual margin was narrow, Yarra were always in control with comfortable wins to Ben Rogers, Ryan Woodward, Daniel Pearce and No. 1 player, Daniel Nisbet.

 2012 Men’s Division 1 Champions – Yarra Yarra

Queenslander Nisbet, the current No.1 ranked men’s amateur in Australia, capped off a personal unbeaten 2012 season with a three-and-two win over Victorian State player Geoff Drakeford in the final. Yarra’s victory was the club’s ninth Division 1 men’s title and first since 2007. 

The Division 1 Women’s final between Kingston Heath and Heidelberg was decided on the final hole in the No.1 match between Victorian State player Grace Lennon and 2011 Australian Women’s Champion, Ashlee Dewhurst. With matches tied at three apiece, the two players were all square playing the par four, 301-metre 18th.

Lennon sealed the result with a stunning lofted iron approach shot to a metre from the hole. The resulting birdie gave Kingston Heath the final by four matches to three and was the club’s first Division 1 title since 2009 and fifth in its history.  

In other Men’s Pennant finals played, the winners were Southern (Div 2); Latrobe (Div 3); Peninsula (Div 4); Goonawarra (Div 5) and Riversdale (Div 6). Winners of the remaining Women’s Pennant finals were Long Island (Div 2); Sandhurst (Div 3); Patterson River (Div 4) and Waverley (Div 5)

Commonwealth took out the Division 1 Colts final by defeating Sanctuary Lakes four matches to one. Other winners of Colts Pennant finals were Southern (Div 2); Sandhurst (Div 3); Metropolitan (Div 4) and Medway (Div 5).