Date: October 29, 2012
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA


The achievements of the South Australian Golf Industry have been celebrated by around 275 golfing representatives from around the state at the South Australian Golf Industry Awards Night held at the Adelaide Oval on the evening of Saturday 27 October. The Master of Ceremonies for the night was once again Wayne Phillips. Amongst the highlights of the Awards evening was the induction of two local legends of the game to the South Australian Golf Hall of Fame. Voted by representatives of the four organising bodies, Golf SA, PGA of Australia, Golf Management Australia and the Australian Golf Course Superintendents Association, the two new inductees to the South Australian Golf Hall of Fame were Pauline Sanderson and Dr David Cherry. Both received standing ovations for their astounding contribution to South Australian Golf, both as players and fine administrators. They join 2011 inductees: Rhonda Watson OAM, Murray Crafter, John Crosby OAM, Jane Crafter and Bob Tuohy. In total over 20 trophies were presented as part of the SA Industry Awards Night, which covered industry specific awards from the GMA, PGA and SAGCSA, as well as awards for volunteer contributions to the game from both Metropolitan and Country areas. A special presentation was also made to the SA Boy s State Team recognising their achievement as 2012 National Champions. The Team presented with a special plaque consisted of: Matthew Lisk (Captain), Kieran Barratt, Jordan Bishop, Lachlan Booth, Anthony Murdaca, Jack Williams, Gareth Jones (Coach) and Tony Bourne (Team Manager). The full list of award recipients is: * Golf SA Junior Boy&aposs Vardon – Anthony Murdaca (The Grange) * Golf SA Women&aposs Vardon – Caitlin Roberts (Royal Adelaide) * Golf SA Men&aposs Vardon – Brad Moules (Royal Adelaide) * SAGCSA Graduate Award (Sponsored by Toro) – Ryan Smooker (North Adelaide) * SAGCSA Award for Excellence in Golf Course Management (Sponsored by Globe) – Richard James (The Grange) * SAGCSA Distinguished Service Award (Sponsored by Metropolitan Machinery) – Mal Grundy (Murray Bridge) * GMA Club Manager of the Year (Sponsored by MiClub)- Alan Tarry (South Lakes) * GMA Club Employee of the Year (Sponsored by Innovision Consulting) – Kerry Crossman (Glenelg) * SA Golf Industry OHS Award (Sponsored by Monit) – Royal Adelaide Golf Club * Metropolitan Female Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Schweppes) – Nora Estcourt-Hughes (Royal Adelaide) * Country Female Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by BGC Industrial Cleaning Supplies) – Beryl Hawthorne (Pinnaroo) * Metropolitan Male Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Programmed Property Services)- Russell Miller (Penfield) * Country Male Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Golf Car Solutions)- Gary Lloyd (Jamestown) * PGA Trainee of the Year – Chris Duke (Blackwood) * PGA Pro Am of the Year (Legends) – Swanbury Penglase SA PGA Senior Championship * PGA Pro Am of the Year (Open) – SA Italian Golf Club Pro Am * PGA Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Coca Cola) – Matthew Dent (Blackwood) For photos CLICK HERE