Date: February 14, 2013

2012 Stroke Averages Awarded

Ivo Whitton & Champions Trophy
Ryan Woodward from Yarra Yarra has claimed the prestigious Men’s Ivo Whitton trophy – playing 47 rounds and achieving scoring an average of 68.9. In the women’s section the Champions Trophy was taken by Metropolitan’s Su-Hyun Oh with a scoring average of 64.   

In 2012, the Ivo Whitton trophy was fiercely contested with 140 male amateurs participating. Woodward was a deserving winner as he took the runner up position in 2011 close behind Anthony Houston. A year later the roles were reversed as Houston was the 2012 runner up with an average of 69.4.

The Ivo Whitton trophy was introduced in 1960. Ryan’s name will be engraved on this important and traditional trophy along some of the best Victorian players such as Michael Clayton (1978 and 1980); Peter Sweeney (1981); John Lindsay (1984); Brad Hughes (1987); Robert Allenby (1990 and 1991); Stephen Allan (1994), Geoff Ogilvy (1995 and 1997) and Marcus Fraser (1999).

In the meantime, the top two positions in the inaugural Champions Trophy were taken by State Team members Su-Hyun Oh from Metropolitan and Grace Lennon from Kingston Heath respectively. Both players played 24 rounds and performed steadily through the year only to be separated by a small margin of 1.7 with Su-Hyun’s final average being 64 whilst Grace’s was 65.7.

Click here for final 2012 Ivo Whitton Trophy Results

Click here for final 2012 Champions Trophy Results

The 2013 average trophies are underway with 130 men amateur taking part of the Ivo Whitton Trophy and 15 women in the Champions Trophy.

Click here for 2013 Ivo Whitton Trophy Results as at 14/02/13

Click here for 2013 Champions Trophy Results as at 14/02/13

Ryan Woodward – Yarra Yarra
Ivo Whitton Trophy Winner

Su Hyun Oh – Metropolitan
Champions Trophy Winner

Geoff Ogilvy & Future Champions Trophy

The Geoff Ogilvy Trophy, formerly known as the Junior Ivo Whitton Trophy, is the trophy played thought the entire year and is awarded to the player who has the lowest scoring average in ‘Geoff Ogilvy Trophy’ events.

David Micheluzzi from Cranbourne Golf Club has narrowly won the 2012 Geoff Ogilvy Trophy with a scoring average of 70 over last years champion James Bannan from Rosanna Golf Club with a scoring average of 70.533. The Geoff Ogilvy also comprises of an under 16 and under 14 section. Micheluzzi also impressively triumphed in the under 16 section over Brett Coletta from Sandhurst Golf Club. In the under 14 section, in form Australian representative Ryan Ruffels from Victoria Golf Club comfortably took out the title.

The Future Champions Trophy has evolved out of the former Womens Golf Victoria Junior Girls Averages event. Alike the Geoff Ogilvy Trophy, the Future Champions Trophy is played throughout the year and is awarded to the player who has the lowest scoring average in the ‘Future Champions Trophy’ events.

2013 Junior State Team and 2012 Women’s State Team member Julienne Soo secured victory in the overall title with a scoring average of 71.933. Whilst Claudia Marazita from Green Acres Golf Club took out the under 16 section and Kono Matsumoto from Victoria Golf Club won the under 14 section.

Click here for final 2012 Geoff Ogilvy Trophy Results

Click here for final 2012 Future Champions Trophy Results

The Ivo Whitton Trophy, Champions Trophy, Geoff Ogilvy Trophy and Future Champions Trophy will be presented at the conclusion of the first 2013 Pennant Round.


David Micheluzzi – Cranbourne
Geoff Ogilvy Winner

Julienne Soo – Woodlands
Future Champion Trophy Winner