Date: October 19, 2013
Author: Olivia Wilson

2013 Men’s Sand Greens Championship

Sunday 20 October 2013

Walcha&aposs Luke Brennan has won the 2013 NSW Sand Greens Championship in a thrilling play-off against Tamworth&aposs Grahame York. Both players finished at one under par after 36 holes. It took an eagle 2 at the 314m par 4 third play-off hole to decide the Championship, with Luke cracking a drive to within a metre of the hole. Last year&aposs winner Nathan Mann finished one stroke further back after two even par rounds of 71. In the Junior Championship, local Luke York won the event with fine rounds of 74 and 77. In the nett event, Tanilba Bay&aposs Jeff Merlin had an amazing 58 on day 2 to take the event by a convincing three strokes to Emmaville&aposs John O&aposBrien and Holbrook&aposs Mark Winnett.

Saturday19 October 2013

The 2013 Championship is headed by the younger entrants, with Ben Koopman (Barraba) and Luke Brennan (Walcha) having shot rounds of two under par 69. Hot on their heels are Grahame York (Barraba) and last year&aposs winner Nathan Mann (Tamworth), who both had even par rounds of 71. Luke Roberts also heads up the nett event with a score of 64. Luke shares the lead with Greg Roberts Manilla) and Wallace Hunter (Moree). In the teams event, Tanilba Bay have a commanding seven stroke lead over Hollbrook and Walcha. Full team results are listed below. In the Junior Championship, Luke York&aposs round of 74 has put him in the lead, two strokes ahead of Mitchell McPherson. Click here for the leaderboard

Friday 18 October 2013

Over 110 men will contest the 2013 Men&aposs NSW Sand Greens Championship, incorporating the 2013 NSW Junior Boy&aposs Sand Greens Championship and the 2013 NSW Sand Greens Teams Event, being held at Barraba Golf Club on Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 October 2013. Draw and Player Information The Championship is open to male amateur golfers with a handicap of 27.4 or under, and will be played over two rounds of 18-holes. The Championship includes the popular team s event whereby teams of three compete, with the two best nett scores each day counting towards the team total. A range of prizes will be awarded, including:

  • NSW Sand Greens Champion will be awarded the John Lugsdin Memorial Trophy
  • Sandgreens Championship runner up
  • 36 hole nett winner & runner up
  • Saturday scratch winner
  • Saturday nett winner
  • Sunday scratch winner
  • Sunday nett winner
  • NSW Junior Sand Greens Championship – winner
  • Teams event winners
Best of luck to all in the Championship. For draws, results and reports click here. For further information, please contact Graeme Phillipson on: Phone: + 61 2 9505 9105 E-mail: