Date: May 14, 2015
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

2015 Golf SA Pennant season starts Sun 17 May

/> 2014 Winning Simpson Cup Team – The Grange

The Golf SA Pennant season will commence on Sunday 17th May, with the Men’s top grade ‘The Simpson Cup’ being played at Blackwood Golf Club.

The Simpson Cup is an 8 team Competition, played over a 7 round season (each team plays each other once). The top 2 teams after 7 rounds, play off in the Final on Sunday 12th July at Kooyonga Golf Club.

To win the title last season, Grange fielded a side featuring 5 players in the men’s state team. This year with Antonio Murdaca and Matthew Lisk overseas for most of the season, Jack Williams is the sole state rep player from last month’s Interstate Series. Despite this, Grange will still field a strong team with all members apart from Scott Webb and Marl Demasi (who bring vast experience), all having represented SA at either junior or Men’s level at some point in the past. Going undefeated last season will be hard to replicate, but expect them to finish top. 

The Grange Team Manager Geoff Hendrick believes the team will be right in the mix again.

“Grange has retained and strengthened last year's powerhouse Simpson Cup winning team and is looking to go back to back this year.” Geoff Hendrick said.

“Depth will be our strength based on a foundation of proven hard tough match play winners in Jack Williams, Ben Stowe, Andre Na and captain Justin Crowder. The unavailability of Antonio Murdaca and Matt Lisk for much of the season (overseas golf commitments) will be compensated by the return of former top 15 nationally ranked player Alex Hendrick.”

“Competition for places in the team will be hot with proven Simpson Cup match play winners from last year Scott Webb and Mark Demasi being pushed by a number of fearless long hitting juniors including Jack Thompson, Colin Coleman and Ben Tucker along with state boys team members Liam Georgiadis and Michael Coleman.” Hendrick added.

Kooyonga runner up last season are due for another big season.  Charles Shaw (study) and Jordan Bishop (USA Scholarship) are big losses; however, elevating junior state rep Joe Hodgson to the Cup team should prove dividends with Hodgson a fierce match play competitor.

Will Somerfield, Heath Riches and Tim Baker are among the top few players in the state so if Kooyonga can get great output from players like Sam Gava, Zak Fuller and John Hayes they will be right in the mix.

“We are committed to the goal of maintaining a position as a leading contender in Simpson Cup. The finals experience gained in the last three years should stand us in good stead given that the playing group has not altered significantly.” Team Manager Geoff Raneberg said.

“The playing group have prepared well for the season, and we expect to be competitive.”

Other clubs who should feature strongly are Tea Tree Gully premiers from 2010-12 along with Royal Adelaide who last won the Simpson Cup in 1951.

The Vines of Reynella Men's A2 Premiers last season have been promoted to the top grade, whilst last years wooden spooners The Stirling have been relegated to A2.

****Please refer to our season preview for full team details and season predictions > read more

(Simpson Cup Round 1) 17th May at Blackwood

1st Tee 11.15 am    Blackwood v Tea Tree Gully
10th Tee 11.15 am  Glenelg v Royal Adelaide 
1st Tee 12.10 pm    The Vines v Kooyonga
10th Tee 12.10 pm  The Grange v Highercombe

*The Women's top Pennant Grade (A1), a six team competition, commences on Sun 31st May at The Grange Golf Club.