Date: May 13, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

2016 Golf SA Pennant season to commence Sun 15 May

The Golf SA Pennant season will commence on Sunday 15th May, with the Men’s top grade ‘The Simpson Cup’ being played at Kooyonga Golf Club.

The Simpson Cup is an 8 team Competition, played over a 7 round season (each team plays each other once). The top 2 teams after 7 rounds, play off in the Final on Sunday 10th July at Royal Adelaide Golf Club.

2015 champion Kooyonga has been hit hard by player movement, but retains enough of their top players to be a threat once again in season 2016.

Top-line players departing inlcude; Tim Baker, Zac Fuller, Sam Gava and Danny Speirs. 

Kooyonga Team Manager Tim Sennett believes the team will be right in the mix again.

“Our squad has seen quite a few changes this year.  We have lost some real experience and talent from our 2015 squad due to a variety of reasons, but to balance that we see the return of some experienced players and a couple of new players who have not represented Kooyonga at Simpson Cup level before.” Tim Sennett said

“We face a significant challenge in defending our Simpson Cup win from 2015, but it is one we look forward to with enthusiasm.”

“Riches, Somerfield, Hodgson and Cocks form the core from previous years with a number of talented players keen to compliment this group.  This includes Bishop and Johns who will be back for part of the season from their US college golf program, Shaw a former no 1 player, Brennan a seasoned campaigner, McMillian a talented player and formerly of The Vines, and Luke Richards and Bevan O’Connor as first time pennant players for Kooyonga.We are certainly looking forward to the season.” Sennett added

The Grange runner up last season are due for another big season.  Grange too, has lost some key players but still has the depth and experienced to push for a finals berth.  

“Grange is still smarting from its loss in last year's pennant final and determined to exact revenge this year of arch-rivals Kooyonga.” Team Manager Geoff Hendrick said

“The departure of Antonio Murdaca, Jack Williams, Andre Na and Ben Stowe to the pro ranks and Ben Tucker to the US college golf system has created opportunities for the next generation of Grange talent to show their stuff.”

“We welcome the return of SA's number one ranked player Matt Lisk and the inclusion of state player Liam Georgiadis who came to national prominence with a stunning 67 at this year’s Aussie Amateur." Hendrick added

Other clubs who should feature strongly are Glenelg (last title in 2003) and Tea Tree Gully who won three Simpson Cup's in a row from 2010-2012.

Southern Men's A2 Premiers last season have been promoted to the top grade, whilst last years wooden spooners The Stirling have been relegated to A2.

Please refer to our season preview for full team details including ins and outsread more

(Simpson Cup Round 1) 15th May at Kooyonga

1st Tee 9.30 am       Kooyonga v The Grange
1st Tee 10.25 am     Glenelg v Tea Tree Gully 
1st Tee 11.20 am     Southern v Blackwood
1st Tee 12.15 pm     The Vines v Royal Adelaide

*The Women's top Pennant Grade (A1) now titled the 'Sanderson Cup', is a four team competition and commences on Sun 22 May at Blackwood Golf Club.