Date: April 14, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

2016 National Senior Masters Continues

<image="2" align="left" />

The 2016 National Senior Masters Championship continued today, as round two commenced for both the morning & afternoon fields on the testing Old Course layout. Both fields once again enjoyed pleasant conditions, with the trademark Mornington Peninsula coastal winds remaining relatively calm for the duration of the second round.  

The nett championship remains tight at the top, with local National member Tony Briers using his local knowledge to his advantage to take a two shot lead into the final round after recording a two round nett total of 140. Peninsula-Kingswood’s Mark Abeyaratne is Briers’ nearest challenger finishing with a two round nett total of 142.  

Opening round leader Simon Bracegirdle (The National) remains the man to beat in the gross championship. Bracegirdle fired a steady second round of 75, to take the narrowest of leads into the final round, a single stroke. Making the day’s biggest charge was former Doug Bachli trophy winner Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath) who produced one of the finest individual rounds in the events history a superb five under par round of 67.

Bendigo’s Ian Frost also sits comfortably within striking distance, just one stroke out of the lead with two consistent rounds of 75 & 70 respectively to sit in a tie with Claney at one over par 145.   

The final round shapes as an exciting finale in both the nett & gross championships, play will commence via two shotgun starts at 8:00am. The Peter Thomson designed Ocean Course will host the top 100 players who survived the second round cut, whilst the remaining 92 players will take to the host layout of the opening round, the Moonah course.

To view full results, final round draws, progressive leaderboards, detailed weather forecast & photos, click here.

*Competitors Please Note: All players will be commencing their respective final rounds tomorrow via an 8:00am shotgun start. Please check your starting hole & allocated course at registration which will commence at 6:30am.