Date: February 29, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

2016 SA Junior State Teams announced

Golf SA has selected its junior state sides for April's National Junior Interstate Series in Tasmania, with six of the twelve players due to make their representative debuts.

“I congratulate all the players on their selection, especially the new players representing South Australia for the first time” Chair of Golf SA HP Tony Bourne said.

“This is a great opportunity for the players to test themselves against their interstate peers in a team environment and I’m confident all players will represent SA with pride and in the right spirit.”

In the state Boy's side, Glenelg’s Lachlan Barker, Liam Georgiadis (The Grange) and Joseph Hodgson from Kooyonga are the returning players.

The three players to make their debuts are; Michael Coleman (The Grange) and Ben Layton (Glenelg) who were both reserves last year and Jackson Kalz from Glenelg Golf Club who is the youngest in the team and will be the only sixteen year old, come series time.

Barker who turns seventeen in March and is ranked 19th nationally has the honour of captaining the side for a second year. Currently leading the Junior Vardon averages by two strokes, Barker won the South Australian Men’s Amateur Championship in October.

Joseph Hodgson was a star performer in last year’s series winning five from six matches and is in good form with two wins over summer.

Liam Georgiadis ranked 37th nationally is currently ranked second on the junior vardon table and performed strongly in the Australian Men’s Amateur in January firing a five under 67 in round one, making the match play section.

Adrian Wickstein will coach the boys side for the second consecutive year. Wickstein who is the Teaching Professional at the Glenelg Golf Club was Men’s State Captain in 2008.   

In the Girls team, returning players are Ella Adams and Jin-Young Yun from The Grange Golf Club and Emma Sutton from Glenelg.

The three inclusions are Maddie Fitzpatrick (Kooyonga), Caitlin Peirce (The Vines) and Charley Jacobs (Ardrossan) who gained experience as a reserve last year.

Sixteen year old Adams, ranked 24th nationally,will Captain the side for the first time, in what will be her fourth appearance, after being first selected in 2013 as a thirteen year old. Adams has won three women’s vardons over the summer period and will likely anchor the side.

54th ranked Emma Sutton has been selected for the third time and fourteen year old Jin-Young Yun has gained valuable experience over the past 12 months performing well during the summer period winning three times.

Simon MacWhirter will coach the side for the first time. Simon started his career as a PGA Professional in the North East of England in 1992, competing in Europe, Africa and the United States. Following his time on tour he worked as a David Leadbetter Academy Instructor and spent time coaching at the Academies in Spain, Austria, Tampa and Orlando.

Simon arrived in Adelaide in 2009 and is now a Certified PGA Professional with Advanced status in coaching. After five and a half years based at the Drummond Golf Driving Range at West Beach, Simon is now the Teaching Professional at the North Adelaide Golf Club.

The Australian Boys' Interstate Matches will be played from 17 – 20 April 2016 at the Ulverstone Golf Club in Tasmania with the Australian Boys Amateur being held at the same course prior from 13 – 15 April.

The Australian Girls' Interstate Matches will be played from 17 – 19 April 2016 at the Devonport Golf Club in Tasmania with the Australian Girls Amateur will be held at the same course prior from 13 – 15 April.

The full team listings are as follows:

2016 Boys State Team

• Lachlan Barker (Captain) (Glenelg)
• Michael Coleman (The Grange)
• Liam Georgiadis (The Grange)
• Joseph Hodgson (Kooyonga)
• Jackson Kalz (Glenelg)
• Ben Layton (Glenelg)

Reserve (Non-travelling)
• Jamie Smith (The Grange)

• (Coach) Adrian Wickstein
• (Manager) Christian Puccini

2016 Girls State Team

• Ella Adams (Captain) (The Grange)
• Maddie Fitzpatrick (Kooyonga)
• Charley Jacobs (Ardrossan)
• Caitlin Peirce (The Vines)
• Emma Sutton (Glenelg)
• Jin-Young Yun (The Grange)

Reserve (Non-travelling)
• Emily Dunbar (The Vines)

(Coach) Simon MacWhirter
(Manager) Leah Tattersall