Date: February 24, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

2016 Victorian junior teams announced

The 2016 Victorian junior teams were announced today by Golf Victoria’s high performance department.  The following players have been selected to compete in both the 2016 Australian Boys' & Girls’ Amateur Championships and Junior Interstate Series to be held in Tasmania from April 13-20.  Both teams are the current series title holders.

2016 Victorian girls' team:

Alexandra Hilliard (Captain) Commonwealth 16
Shanaiah Fernando Yarra Yarra 16
Zara Woodbridge Royal Melbourne 15
Alizza Hetherington Royal Melbourne 15
Gabriela Ruffels Victoria 15
Linley Ooi Kew 15

2016 Victorian boys' team:

Matias Sanchez Royal Melbourne 17
Konrad Ciupek Victoria 17
Cameron John (Captain) Commonwealth 16
Andre Lautee Kingston Heath 16
Toby Walker Heidelberg 16
Karl Vilips Spring Valley 14

Darren Cole, VIS assistant coach, will coach the girls' team and the team manager will be Jo Charlton. The girls will compete at Devonport Golf Club from April 17-20.

The junior boys' coach is David Capaldo, professional at Peninsula Kingswood Country Golf Club and the team manager will be Ashley Marshall. The boys will compete at the Ulverstone Golf Club from April 17-20.

Both teams will also be supported by assistant manager, Mark Bamford.

In addition, Jasper Stubbs (Bairnsdale GC) and Antony Majstorovic (Victoria GC) have also been selected to travel with the team as development players. They will compete in the Australian Junior Championship and support the players at the Junior Interstate Series.

The teams have been selected after monitoring scoring from local, state and national competitions as well as using the experienced knowledge of State coaches, Golf Victoria’s sports science personnel and the State selection panel.

Golf Victoria would like to acknowledge Acushnet (Titleist) for supporting the 2016 Victorian Junior State Teams and high performance program.