Date: March 21, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

2016 Victorian teams announced

The 2016 Victorian State Teams have been announced by Golf Victoria’s high performance department.  The following players have been selected to compete in the Interstate Series to be held in Brisbane from May 10-13.  Both teams are the current series title holders.

2016 Victorian women’s team:

Name Home Club Age
Joanna Charlton (Captain) Metropolitan 26
Olivia Kline Victoria 18
Stephanie Bunque Victoria 18
Alizza Hetherington Royal Melbourne 15
Gabriela Ruffels Victoria 15
Zara Woodbridge Royal Melbourne 15

2016 Victorian men’s team:

Name Home Club Age
Brett Coletta (Captain) Sandhurst 19
Zach Murray Commonwealth 18
David Micheluzzi Metropolitan 19
Andrew Schonewille Peninsula Kingswood 23
Kyle Michel Peninsula Kingswood 19
Lukas Michel Metropolitan 22
Will Heffernan Royal Melbourne 22
Cameron John Commonwealth 16

Darren Cole, VIS assistant coach, will coach the women’s team and the team manager will be Lisa Jean. Lisa played in the Victorian team for three years prior to turning professional.  The women will compete at Royal Queensland Golf Club from May 10-13.

The men’s coach is VIS head coach Marty Joyce and the team manager will be Brian Lasky. This is Brian’s seventh year as team manager and he brings a wealth of experience to the role.  The men will compete at the Brisbane Golf Club from May 10-13.

The teams have been selected after monitoring scoring from local, state and national competitions as well as using the experienced knowledge of State coaches, Golf Victoria’s sports science personnel and the State selection panel.

Golf Victoria would like to acknowledge Acushnet (Titleist) for supporting the 2016 Victorian State Teams and high performance program.