Date: August 24, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

2016 Women’s Country Teams’ Champions

The 2016 Women’s Country Teams' matches have come to an end, with Golf Peninsula Vic, Goulburn Valley & Northern this year's winners of their respective divisions

Division one came down to a tense battle of the final matches to decide this year’s winning district. With a number of close results, it was the Golf Peninsula Vic team who held their nerve to finish atop the standings by the narrowest of margins. A slim 1.5 total match advantage at the conclusion of the final round was enough to give Golf Peninsula Vic the division one Alice Coltman crown.

North Eastern finished second with Western rounding out the top three places. Undefeated players included Casey Wild (North Eastern), Alex Hilliard (Golf Peninsula Vic), Kath Dellar (South Western), Judy Langford (North Eastern) & Amy Leeson (Ballarat).

In division two, it was another tight affair, with a number of teams in the running heading into the final days play. As the final matches progressed, it was clear this year’s result would hinge on the Golf Central vs Goulburn Valley contest, with Dalhousie enjoying a last round bye ensuring they were unable to improve upon their overnight position on the ladder.

In the end, it was Goulburn Valley who emerged successful by the barest of margins with a 4 matches to 3 result over Golf Central, ensuring they remained undefeated taking this year’s division two Alice Coltman title. Dalhousie finished runners-up with Golf Central in third place.

Goulburn Valley will now be promoted to division one in 2017. Undefeated players included Jenna Harding & Tahlia Holmberg (Golf Central), Nia Whittle (Murray Darling), Emily Pell & Jess Pickwick (Dalhousie), Steffi Vogel (Goulburn Valley) & Sue Wood (East Gippsland).            

The Northern District has claimed the Division 3 Alice Coltman Cup in imposing style. Northern finished off their undefeated week with a convincing win over South Gippsland (5.5/1.5) this morning at Patterson River.

The break between drinks hasn’t been that long for Northern after securing this exact title back in 2013 and further back in 2007. Manager Irene Whelan & Captain Mary-Anne Davis mentioned and thanked all for the hard work, in particular the caddies.

The Division 3 title produced five undefeated players from the Northern District. They were Mary-Anne Davis, Kathy Parkinson, Jane Wall, Jo Watts & Heather Harley. Other notable performance were Lisa Jakobi (Wimmera), Toni West (South Gippsland) & Lee Clements (South Gippsland) who were also undefeated. 

A huge thank you to host clubs The National (Long Island), Kew, Sandhurst, Cranbourne, Patterson River & Victoria for their hospitality over the three days.

To view full results, photos & final ladder standings, click here.  

<image="2" align="left" />