Date: April 06, 2017
Author: Golf Queensland

2017 QAS Squad unveiled

Golf Queensland has today announced the Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) Golf Squad for 2017, with two new faces joining seven existing squad members.

Karis Davidson and Jed Morgan will join Charlie Dann, Becky Kay, Dee Dee Russell, Gennai Goodwin, Lawry Flynn, Louis Dobbelaar, and Shae Wools-Cobb to make up this year’s squad.

Golf Queensland High Performance Program Manager Tony Meyer said he was excited to be working with Queensland’s young golfing talent.

“The selected squad members have demonstrated commitment to continuing development in all aspects of their game, including technical, physical and mental.

“Squad members have been achieving exceptional results on the golf course this year. Charlie Dann and Shae Wools-Cobb are currently ranked one and three respectively in the National Men’s Rankings, and Becky Kay and Karis Davidson both recently received The Karrie Webb Scholarship.”

“The QAS program gives the athlete the best possible opportunities and world-class resources to fully develop their potential.”

Queensland Academy of Sport Golf Program
The Queensland Academy of Sport Golf Program is conducted with the assistance of the Queensland Government and forms the pinnacle of the Golf Queensland High Performance Program.

The 2017 QAS Squad is proudly supported by Titleist and will train at The Brisbane Golf Club.

On course training will further be enhanced this year with players having access to the new state of the art short game facility at The Brisbane Golf Club.

The program which commenced in July 2001, is designed to assist Queensland's most talented amateur players in reaching their full potential within the amateur golf ranks.

QAS scholarship holders have access to world-class coaching and support services including sport science, strength and conditioning, medical, career and education in addition to financial support for competition and training costs, depending on the level of their scholarship.

The Queensland Academy of Sport Program collectively forms part of the Golf Australia High Performance Program Pathway.

View Player Profiles.

2017 QAS Squad

Charlie Dann Pelican Waters 24
Dee Dee Russell Brisbane 20
Gennai Goodwin Indooroopilly 22
Jed Morgan Hattonvale 17
Karis Davidson Sanctuary Cove 18
Lawry Flynn Brisbane 19
Louis Dobbelaar Brookwater 15
Rebecca Kay Coolangatta Tweed Heads 18
Shae Wools-Cobb Maroochy River 21