Date: December 07, 2012

Alan Bullas claims the 2012 Doug Bachli Trophy

Allan Bullas has taken out the 2012 Doug Bachli Trophy on a total of 1701 points.
The Doug Bachli Trophy is presented to player that accrues the highest total number of points for stroke performances in designated Senior events throughout the course of the year. The trophy is awarded in memory of the late Doug Bachli, who in 1954, famously came from behind at Muirfield to upstage American Walker Cup player Bill Campbell, to become the first Australian to ever win the British Amateur Championship.
Known as “Bull Ant” amongst his peers, Bullas was consistent through the year, winning both the Commonwealth Senior Amateur and the 36-hole Melbourne Senior Classic. Other solid performances at Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula, Cobram-Barooga, Coomealla and the Victorian Senior Amateur was enough to secure the title and have his name etched on the coveted hand crafted trophy. In fact, the steady play he demonstrated through the year lead to selection in the Australian Senior Team that recently competed in Hong Kong. 2009 winner, Michael Jackson, placed second on 1511 points. Four time Doug Bachli champion, Ross Percy, finished in third position, 196 points behind Bullas.  
Ignatius Duivenvoorden of Yarram successfully defended the handicap section, notching out Pat Giles of Goonawarra by 286 points to win back to back. Duivenvoorden started the 2012 year strong with early wins at the Surfcoast Senior Amateur and then the Alpine Senior Masters one month later. High placings at Cobram-Barooga, Commonwealth and the Moyne Senior Classic was sufficient to for the 61 year old to secure the title. Wayne Aigner of the Narooma Golf Club sat 367 points adrift in third place.
Doug, a life member of Victoria Golf Club, was also named in the VGA Team of the Century in 2002. Golf Victoria express great thanks to Doug’s wife Dorothy and children Michelle, Simon, Mark and Paul for their support in naming this pinnacle trophy for Senior Golfers.
2012 Doug Bachli Trophy Winners:
Doug Bachli Trophy:
Third: Ross Percy – Cobram Barooga: 1505 pts
Second: Michael Jackson – Yarra Yarra: 1511 pts
First: Alan Bullas – Commonwealth: 1701 pts
Senior Order of Merit Handicap Trophy:
Third: Wayne Aigner – Narooma: 1249 pts
Second: Pat Giles – Goonawarra: 1330 pts
First: Ignatius Duivenvoorden – Yarram: 1616 pts
Doug Bachli Trophy 65+:
Third: Wayne Aigner – Narooma: 914 pts
Second: Pat Giles – Goonawarra: 1380 pts
First: Michael Jackson – Yarra Yarra: 1511 pts
Senior Order of Merit Handicap Trophy 65+:
Third: Graham Bone – Commonwealth: 986 pts
Second: Wayne Aigner – Narooma: 1249 pts
First: Pat Giles – Goonawarra: 1330 pts
Click here to view all 2012 final results