Date: April 29, 2013
Author: Golf Australia

All set for Australian Interstate Series

AUSTRALIAN INTERSTATE TEAMS MATCHES – SCORE UPDATES All is set for nearly 90 of Australia s best amateur golfers to tee off in Tasmania tomorrow at the Australian Interstate Teams Matches at Royal Hobart and Tasmania Golf Clubs from 30 April-3 May. Tasmania Golf Club is hosting the Men’sInterstate Teams Matches for the first time since 1993 while Royal Hobart Golf Club will host the Women’s Interstate Teams Matches for the first time at Australia&aposs oldest team championship. Among the leading players in action this week are current Australian Amateur champions Cameron Smith (QLD) and Minjee Lee (WA). Western Australia will field a pair of World Number 2 players in their respective teams with Lee and Riversdale Cup champion Brady Watt. Su Hyun Oh (VIC) and Grace Lennon (VIC), the World Number 4 and 17 respectively, recently returned with Lee from Australia s victory at the Queen Sirikit Cup in Taiwan. The South Australian team is boosted by recently crowned Australian junior champion Anthony Murdaca. The Interstate Teams Matches have played host to the early careers of some of Australia s best players including Greg Norman, Karrie Webb, Jason Day, Aaron Baddeley, Sarah Kemp and Sarah-Jane Smith. Western Australia will be looking to for a third straight win in the women’s championship for the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup, a feat not achieved since New South Wales from 1999-2001. New South Wales are the defending champions at the men’s title.