Date: September 04, 2014

ALPG – About Us

Formed in 1972, Australian Ladies Professional Golf (ALPG) is the sanctioning body for women's professional golf in Australia and New Zealand and is recognised globally, as one of the six major women's professional tours. Over the years our membership has grown to over 160 members and we run the annual Pro-Am series known as Club Car Series, along with major events which typically attract leading players from around the world.

Our major events are The Women's Victorian Open; New South Wales Women's Open; Women's Australian Open; Australian Ladies Masters and Women's New Zealand Open. These events boast honour rolls which include the likes of ALPG members Karrie Webb, Katherine Hull, Kristie Smith and Lindsey Wright along with international players such as current and former world No-1 players Yani Tseng, Annika Sorenstam and Laura Davies. Other stars appearing regularly on the ALPG Tour include Lydia Ko, Jiyai Shin, Stacy Lewis, Melissa Reid, Gwladys Nocera and Christina Kim.

Within the current Membership, approximately 60 members comprise the Teaching Section. These members have gained accreditation through the previously conducted ALPG VETAB and Level 2 Teaching Courses; the PGA of Australia Trainee Program or the PGA of Australia Bridging Course. We are committed to providing personal and business development opportunities for the Teaching Section through the conduct of a biannual seminars, promotion of the teaching members through the ALPG website and facilitating regular communication and information sharing among the teaching members.

ALPG is an enthusiastic and passionate organisation, dedicated to promoting women's golf, our members and our tournaments, worldwide.

ALPG Board of Directors
(Following Annual General Meeting 2014)
The overall responsibility for the management of ALPG remains under the direction of the ALPG Executive Board. The Board is composed of seven plus the CEO position. Current positions are held as follows:

President: Shani Waugh
Vice President: Lee Harrington
Treasurer: Joanne Mills
Board Member: Karen Quinn
Board Member: *Craig Meagher
Board Member: *Louise MacDonald
Board Member: *Eugenie Buckley

* Non member appointed by Board.

Patron: Dawn Fraser

Honorary Member: Don Johnson
Honorary Member: Laura Davies
Honorary Member: Warren Sevil

Life Members:
Betty Dalgleish
Laureen Ford
Sheri Wright
Karrie Webb
Jan Stephenson
Ann Wilson
Sandra Mackenzie

ALPG Staff
Executive Director: Karen Lunn
Media Coordinator: Sandra Lonergan
Operations Assistant:Jennifer Johnson

The Board of Directors general responsibilities include strategic planning, member and sponsor relationships, final authority regarding general policy, evaluation of the ALPG management as well as other responsibilities mandated by the ALPG constitution.