Date: April 14, 2009

An lands Boys’ Amateur title

Queenslander Do Eun An joined a stellar list of past champions including Adam Scott by winning the Australian Boys Amateur Championship at Alice Springs Golf Club. The 17-year-old shot a final round 1-under par 71 to win by one stroke from Andrius Belkus (NSW) and Anthony Houston (VIC) who shared second place. The Pacific Golf Club member said he was excited with his win. I thought there was a chance I could win at the start of week but it still feels so great to have done it, An said. It feels great to be on a trophy with my name alongside names like Scott and Appleby, he added. Hopefully one day I can follow their footsteps on to the Tour. Opening his campaign with a 1-over par 73, An shot a second round 69 before closing with a pair of 71s for a final score of 4- under par (284) for the championship As the temperature pushed towards the early 30s, Belkus shot the round of the tournament with a closing 6-under par 66 to jump from a share of 12th to a share of third. Houston finished with a 68. Aaron Wilkin (QLD) finished in a tie for fourth with fellow Queenslander Simon Viitakangas at 2-under par for the tournament. Victorian Nathan Holman closed with a 2-over par 74 to share sixth place with Western Australian Jamie Warman at 1-over for the championship. Jordan Zunic (NSW) finished with a 73 to hold 8th position. NSW duo Dimi Papadatos and Jarrod Freeman closed with rounds of 76 and 69 respectively for a share of ninth. Australian Number 1 (Boys Rankings) Cameron Smith (QLD) closed with an even par round of 72 in 11th position. Travis Sharpe (VIC) was disqualified at the completion of the third round, having been ruled to have taken an incorrect drop during his round. The Australian Boys Interstate Teams Matches begin on Sunday at Alice Springs Golf Club. FINAL LEADERBOARD 284: An, Do Eun (Qld) (-4) 285: A Belkus (NSW) A Houston (Vic). (-3) 286: S Viitakangas (Qld) A Wilkin (Qld). (-2) 289: N Holman (Vic) J Warman (WA). (+1) 290: J Zunic (NSW). (+2) 291: J Freeman (NSW) D Papadatos (NSW). (+3) 292: C Smith (Qld). (+4) 293: K Bobanovic (NSW) B Moules (SA) R Peake (WA) M Taylor (NSW). 294: D Yu (NSW). 295: T Cooper (Qld). 296: D Buyers (NSW) T Horan (Vic) W Hume (Vic) S Worrall (Qld). 297: N Kinch (Qld). 298: T Coroneo (NSW). 299: A Best (NSW) J Cabban (NSW) T Sinnott (Vic) N Smits (Qld) M Wittenberg (NSW). 300: G Drakeford (Vic) K Gancarz (ACT) R Mulvany (Qld) S Ong (Vic) B White (Qld). 301: M Antcliff (Qld) R Kato (NSW) J Stockley (SA). 302: S Daley (Qld) B Joubert (WA) M Salmond (Qld). 303: R Iwama (Qld) M Scarfone (NSW). 304: M Buick (ACT) R Fouche (Qld) A Keevers (NSW) N Roper (Vic) J Thomas (NSW). 305: J Higginbottom (NSW) Y Nakamura (Qld). 306: B Austin (Qld) S Eiszele (Tas) B Jeffery (Qld). 307: C Baulderstone (SA) M Smith (Tas). 308: S Mitchell (Vic) S Toda (Qld). 309: D Hills (Qld). 310: B Corlett (Qld) H Majid (Qld). 311: A Curtin (SA) H Savage (Vic). 313: D Hoeve (WA). 314: J Price (Qld). 316: C Dunstone (ACT). 317: M Ratajewski (SA). DSQ: T Sharpe (Vic).