Date: December 16, 2015
Author: Golf Australia

Aussie Amateur host clubs announced

The host clubs for the next two Australian Amateur Championships have been confirmed.

Australia’s most prestigious men’s and women’s amateur titles, with new support from presenting partner Swinging Skirts, will be held in Melbourne in January 2017, then Perth in 2018.

The 2017 event will be split between the Yarra Yarra Golf Club and the Kingswood Course of the Peninsula Kingswood Country Golf Club.

The 2018 event will be shared between the Lake Karrinyup Country Club and Wanneroo Golf Club.

It will be the first time Yarra Yarra has hosted a national championship, while Kingswood hosted the women’s title in 1985 and will share a role in both men’s and women’s 2016 tournaments.

Lake Karrinyup has hosted six men’s and four women’s championships dating back to 1952, while Wanneroo will make its debut on the national amateur stage.

Golf Australia championships manager Emily Miller said the chosen clubs would continue to help bolster the growing reputation of the events worldwide.

“We’re really excited that clubs of such quality will help us push the event in the next few years,” she said.

“It’s important to us that as many great clubs around Australia as possible are considered as potential hosts, and we’re delighted to take the events to clubs that have never previously held them before.”

The 2016 championships will be shared by Metropolitan and Kingswood in Melbourne and run from January 12-17 with two days of strokeplay followed by four days of matchplay.