Date: August 20, 2008

Aussie amateurs chosen to take on world

Golf Australia is pleased to announce the players selected for the Australian men’s and women’s teams to compete in the Eisenhower Trophy and Espirito Santo Trophy respectively at the World Amateur Teams Championships co-hosted by The Grange Golf Club and Royal Adelaide Golf Club in October later this year. The men’s team is Rohan Blizard (AIS), Matthew Griffin (VIS & AIS) and Tim Stewart (AIS). Blizard, from New South Wales, has had an excellent 12 months culminating in his qualification for The Open Championship at Royal Birkdale in July. Blizard s opening round score put him above the likes of Phil Mickleson and Ernie Els. Griffin, from Victoria, has had an excellent tour of the United States which resulted in him winning the 2008 Rice Planters championship- a highly prized international title. Stewart, also from New South Wales, is the 2006 Australian Amateur champion and winner of the Tasmanian Open this year. The women’s team is Julia Boland (AIS), Clare Choi (VIS & AIS) and Stephanie Na (AIS). Boland, from New South Wales, has had an impressive 2008, winning the Lake Macquarie Amateur, Riversdale Cup, NSW Stroke Play and all while studying for a degree in human movement full-time at university. Choi, from Victoria, is the joint current Victorian Stroke Play champion, Tasmanian Stroke Play champion and winner of the prestigious Dunes Medal. Na, from South Australia, has been on tour in the United States and was joint medallist at the US Women’s Amateur Championship earlier this week and is the current Australian Stroke Play champion. Golf Australia, Director of Elite National Development, Peter Knight said, The members of both teams have all had Australian representative experience as well as being in good form. The opportunities we have for the players to prepare themselves prior to October makes us excited about Australia s prospects in the world s biggest championships like this. All players selected are current members of the Golf Australia/AIS National Squad. The World Amateur Teams Championships will be held 8-19 October 2008 in Adelaide. This is only the second occasion Australia has hosted the event and will mark the 50th anniversary since the inaugural Eisenhower Trophy was held at St. Andrews in Scotland.